Review: Impulse

impulseImpulse by Vanessa Garden

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: eARC courtesy of publisher

Please note this is a review of the second book of Submerged Sun and there may be spoilers in respect to the first book, Captivate (my blurb)

You know that feeling when you see the sequel of a book you’ve read being published? Yes, almost always an excitement and then you’d automatically purchase (in this case, a request on NetGalley) the book before you realised that you really weren’t that keen on book 1. Oops! It was unfortunate that I wasn’t quite that keen on Captivate but I didn’t hate it plus I was somewhat curious about Miranda’s return to Marin so I gave Impulse a go.

There’s definitely no denying it now, Miranda is really really really annoying. Her tendency to think the best of some people or her naivety or blindness, whatever you want to call it, has really got to me this time. More than it was with Captivate because with Lauren around, this happened again and again and again… I would very much like to get my hands around Lauren’s throat, pick her up and bash her against the wall then I may shake Miranda a bit to get some sense into her. Or have I fallen into the author’s trap…? Is there some convoluted twist to be revealed later on? Am I reading too much into this… who knows!

Setting aside all the annoyance, I actually enjoyed the story. There were a number of unexpected twists which are always great in books and a couple of new characters which I’m very curious about. The romance wasn’t bad though I cringed a bit at some soppy-ness. I still, however, adore Marko and Robbie.

Impulse and I aren’t the best fit but I do know that some people love it so if you loved the first book, you would probably love this one too. If you were like me, you will find Miranda exasperating.

Thank you, Harlequin Books Australia for copy of eARC via NetGalley

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.