Review: Embrace

embraceEmbrace by Jessica Shirvington
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Source: bought own paperback copy

My first read for 2015! I was happy that I’ve kickstarted the year with a fairly good read. It has taken me quite some time since I first heard a work colleague raved about it though. The good thing? I’ve 4 out 5 books so I don’t have to wait or anything like that, I can just plow through it all!

The reason I waited so long is that I have this unexplainable aversion about angels in fiction. I thought about it so many times but I just don’t know why. Perhaps it has to do with the face that I am a Christian and so I think that angels should be just as they are described in the Bible. That sounds a bit small-minded, doesn’t it? Well… I don’t have that problem anymore! I adore Embrace.

At first, I didn’t quite like Violet; turning her back on who she is because she’s got her life all mapped out already. However, as I continue reading, I appreciate this as her strength in not just being pushed into things just because… She’s intelligent, loyal, courageous, and really, quite sensible. She is far from perfect and made mistakes too, of course. It’s a part of growing up and discovering oneself and we get to see this through with Violet; where I, the backseat driver, conveniently, shook my head, rolled my eyes, screamed ‘NO!’, as well as nodding in understanding, smiling in approval, & punching the air in victory at the appropriate moments.

I really enjoyed the quotes at the beginning of each chapter. And I also like the idea of Angelic beings and the ancient battle to protect earth & humans. I, most especially, loved the ending which I will described as sensibly romantic; rather hopeful though nothing is resolved. At least, it wasn’t a cliffhanger even though the mystery is still to be solved. I have very high expectations for the rest of the series!

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Review: Embrace

  1. rlsharpe

    I love Jessica Shirvington and I love this series. The thing about Australian writers is that they seem to do angels well, the best angel books I’ve read have been by Aussie authors. I’m so glad you liked this one and hope you continue to like the rest in the series. Great review.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Thanks, Rochelle! I’m onto the 3rd book now and am loving it 🙂
      Which other angel books would you be referring to? I probably shouldn’t ask as I’d probably add it to my ever crazy growing TBR.

      Reply
      1. rlsharpe

        Shadows (The Rephaim series) by Paula Weston are some of my fav books ever! If you haven’t checked them out, you should.

    1. Tien Post author

      Thank you, Louise. I’m also like you – I lurked a lot more than I comment. Thanks so much for dropping a comment 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: YA Speculative Fiction Round-Up: Jan 2015 | New Australian Women Writers Challenge Blog

Would love to hear your thoughts...

