Review: Drowned

drownedDrowned by Nichola Reilly

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: eARC courtesy of publisher

A curious cover and an even more curious title; Drowned is a mysterious read from the very beginning. Even at the finish of the read, I felt like I have ten thousand more questions than at the start. I only just found out, after the read, that this is the first book of a series so I have definitely been enticed enough to look this up next year.

Despite all the mystery, this was a very slow read. Understandably, there was a lot of setting up to be done; the world, the characters, the social structure, etc. The information was doled out at a measured pace as the plot develops. It wasn’t boring as it was strange enough that kept me reading though at a similarly slow pace… definitely not a book that kept me awake at night.

The point which most fascinated me was Coe as the female protagonist. Described as ‘deformed and weak’, she’s an outcast of this doomed society. She’s not one of those capable kick-ass characters that you’d cheer along for but rather one who is aware of her shortcomings and seek only to stay alive even if that means submitting to some questionable circumstances. On the opposite spectrum, was Star, ‘the princess’, whom I found absolutely frustratingly shallow though this impression feels somewhat false… I don’t have an answer for this yet; hopefully book 2 will provide some answers

This is not a book I’d rave about even noting certain points of interests. If you’d like to read something somewhat different then I’d recommend picking this up. You will, however, require some patience. It’s a fairly quiet book dotted with some tense & some sweet moments.

Thank you, Harlequin Teen Australia for copy of eARC via NetGalley

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Drowned

  1. rlsharpe

    I love the cover of this. I am really intrigued by this book. Sometimes after to reading a lot of books with a lot of action, it’s nice to read something a little more quiet. And I don’t mind books that are different. I am looking forward to reading this. Sometimes a good book turns into a great sequel, hopefully that turns out to be the case with Drowned. Good review, thanks for shairing

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      That is quite true, Rochelle, I think that’s why I enjoyed it 🙂

      I hope you like when you get to read it.

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.