Sunday Shorts

I am happy to say that I’ve finished reading one of my chunkster!!! It’s not the most enjoyable read for me but…  not one person can say s/he enjoyed all books s/he’d read, right?

Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak

The only reason I read this is so that I can say I’ve read it – which is mostly the case with classics.  They’re classics for a reason, right?  So, I’ve got to read it for myself.  I didn’t really have high hopes for Doctor Zhivago as it just never attracted me to begin with.  But whoever expected a romance novel, you could not be more wrong.  There are romantic descriptions (example below) but for the more common understanding of romance novel, it is not.

She liked to sit in the dim light of candles, and Pasha always kept a few spare ones.  He replaced the stump in the candlestick with a new candle, put it on the window sill, and lit it.  The flame choked and spluttered, shooting off small stars, and sharpened to an arrow.  A soft light filled the room.  In the sheet of ice covering the windowpane a black eyelet began to form at the level of the flame.

There is, of course, love but this book really is about Doctor Zhivago, of who he is (a bourgeois son), who he grew up to be (a doctor of low/middle class status), and the Russian politics.  It’s about the life of an eccentric intellectual in early 1900s.  I was soon quite lost as I just couldn’t keep up with change in nicknames and there are, at least, a handful for each character!  Plus, I found the conversations to be really strange – just the way they speak to each other, I really couldn’t get the hang of it.  Overall, it was an okay read for me.

One of the most passionate speeches in the book:

“Don’t be upset.  Don’t listen to me.  I only meant that I am jealous of a dark, unconscious element, something irrational, unfathomable.  I am jealous of your toilet articles, of the drops of sweat on your skin, of the germs in the air you breathe which could get into your blood and poison you.  And I am jealous of Komarovsky, as if he were an infectious disease.  Someday he will take you away, just as certainly as death will someday separate us.  I know this must seem obscure and confused, but I can’t say it more clearly.  I love you madly, irrationally, infinitely.”

Have a good week, everybody!  I know that I’ll be super busy at work as we come to the last week of the financial year **shudder** but hopefully, it’ll be over pronto!

One thought on “Sunday Shorts

  1. Pingback: WW Read-A-Thon – Finale « Tien's Blurb

Would love to hear your thoughts...

