Review: Dream of Time

dream of time

Dream of Time by Nancy J. Price
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One sure fire way to get me to read a book is by telling me that it’s a time-travel one. Of course, due to my obsession I’m also sensitive to any title which may be interpreted in such a way. Thus I stumbled upon this little gem on Netgalley (Cheers!).

Robin is such an amazing character! She is definitely intense but also courageous, resourceful, and determined. I feel tired just thinking of the things she has to do. Living one life is enough for me but living two lives, Robin is truly a super-woman. She did pretty well living 2 lives for a while although the strain “time travelling” of it will kill any human. (You’d understand this when you read this book and find out how she time-travelled)

I love Travis! He is definitely a dreamy gentleman. *sighs* He was gentle, considerate, thoughtful, and totally charming. Interestingly, there was another side of him that was quite violent though according to the times and his position, it seems to be an acceptable thing.

As the story is told alternatively between the ‘now’ and the ‘past’ although there are a lot more in the past so at times, it really feels like Robin’s present time and her children are not real at all. Understandably, there was a big mystery in the past which needed solving and that’s the focus of this book. It’s more of a mystery-historical-time-travel-fiction; the mystery is the reason Robin is being sent to the past and through that, we get to enjoy the historical perspectives of San Francisco. The only thing I felt was lacking was the actual mechanics of the time-travel – it was sort of explained in a sort of divinely unexplainable way so it fell short with me.

This book was very much a fun book to read with enough humour and romance to make it into a light relaxing reading that doesn’t require you to think too much.

Thank you Synchronista via Netgalley for privilege to read & review eGalley

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Dream of Time

  1. Pingback: Press mentions | Dream of Time: A novel

  2. Pingback: Book Review – Out of Time: A Time Travel Mystery | Play Time With Emilah Thicke

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.