Review (Sneak Peek): The Archived

The Archived
The Archived by Victoria Schwab
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Source: Sneak Peek eARC courtesy of Disney-Hyperion (via NetGalley)

This was my first ‘sneak peek’ from NetGalley. When I opened the book on my Kobo, I was surprised there were only 100 pages so then I checked around and apparently, ‘sneak peek’ means you get to read about 1/3 or so of the book. D’Oh! I’m not sure if I like that idea at all. As it is, I avoid reading any preview chapters on books I am waiting for… I find that I’d read it over and over that by the time I’ve got the actual book in my hand, I skipped that part as I knew so well and didn’t feel like I enjoyed reading that book to the full.

I’m also not sure on how I’m supposed to review 1/3 of a book? Or if I’m supposed to provide a review at all? In any case, I’ll do a brief comment on what I’ve read so far.

I found the blurb pretty much described what I’ve read so far so that’s a pretty good description of the book although that may mean that it’s a pretty slow set up. It was a little slow, I have to admit, except that I kept getting confused with the flashbacks. I really like Mac as she seems to be a really well-balanced teen. She seems to be coping with grief a lot better than her mum! Maybe with who she really is, she is well equipped to deal with grief. Nonetheless, she is grieving and you can feel it coming in waves throughout the pages. As I’ve only read about 100 pages, I can’t tell whether it gets scarier or not but it’s not that scary so far although I can see if to be a lot more scarier and I’m half-wishing that it will be scarier.

Will I buy the book when it’s released? I don’t know… And that’s only because I’m just a peculiar sort of person who doesn’t like to read part of a book…

Thank you Disney-Hyperion and NetGalley for the preview

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.