Cinderella: Ninja Warrior (Twisted Tales, #1) by Maureen McGowan

Cinderella: Ninja Warrior (Twisted Tales, #1)

5 stars

My favourite princess made even stronger, it couldn’t be better!  A world filled with magic with love being the strongest magic of all.  A wonderful concoction of Maureen McGowan: a retelling of Cinderella mixed in with wizardry, martial arts, and choose-your-own-adventure!  Unfortunately, I don’t have a daughter to share this with (well, maybe not yet…)

Cinderella was trapped.  Her stepmother is a powerful wizard and has employed spells to keep Cinderella in her place: a servant who is practically invisible to the world.  Thank goodness for her friend, Max, he maybe a cat but he is very intelligent.  With Max’s encouragement, Cinderella made time to teach herself a bit of magic and martial arts to hopefully, one day, break free of her bondage.  One day, a messenger came with invites to all the ladies in the house to attend the ball being given in the prince’s honor.  And so, the first chapter ended with the first choice the reader has to make (I won’t further spoil the book for you).

If you love Cinderella then you will love this book.  All the elements are still there but characters being strengthened with new abilities.  Of course, to begin with I wasn’t sure about all these new twists and add-ons just as I wasn’t sure about ‘Pride & Prejudice and Zombies’ (which by the way, I really enjoyed) but I was lured into the story and was really happy with my choices. And I’m sure you will too…

2 thoughts on “Cinderella: Ninja Warrior (Twisted Tales, #1) by Maureen McGowan

    1. Tien Post author

      Um, I would say it depends on the reading level of your child but on average, I’d wait a couple of years 🙂

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.