Review: Akarnae

Akarnae
Akarnae by Lynette Noni
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Stepping through a doorway to a magical world is fairly well used trope and employed well, it can blow the reader’s mind away. On another note, I think, it’s really quite tough to come up with something completely original these days so you really have to be quite open and / or tolerant with books you read. I saw a lot of promise in Akarnae and found it to be a fun read.

The cover is so pretty (Pantera Press seems to have the most gorgeous covers for their books!) and Lynette Noni was so sweet at the launch so I really couldn’t resist. She’s also so funny on her FB posts (so follow her there!) and you can see this humour throughout the book. Akarnae is really a light-hearted adventurous and magical read.

Akarnae is touted as a cross between Harry Potter, Narnia, & X-Men. I wasn’t keen on this thought and the result was that, I kept finding things in the book that is supposedly in Harry Potter or Narnia, etc… I think I was trying to hard subconsciously to find these similarities that I don’t think I enjoyed the book as much as I would have if I went into the book blind (ie. not knowing anything about it).

Nevertheless, I am fascinated by the world of Medora where ‘magic’ and technology are blended harmoniously and though the world appears to be at peace, there is evil lurking underneath the veil. I have enjoyed spending my time with Alex (despite some frustrating moments) but I enjoyed the casual but real friendships she formed in Akarnae. I am looking forward to read book 2, Raelia

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.