Review: Deadlocked

Deadlocked
Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: Library – Get your own copy from The Book Depository

I felt that the last few books have lost the plot a little. That is, the raunchy factor were sky-rocketed that plot was a bare minimum. Therefore, I wasn’t super keen to pick this up when it was released. I was going to wait for the next & final instalment so I could read one after the other without waiting too long but…

I was left soooo… dissatisfied with True Blood Season 5 (did anyone feel that it’s like a ‘filler’ season?) – I needed my ‘Eric’ fill!! (Yep, you heard me, I needed an ‘Eric’ fill) Hence, I turned to this book (the only book I’ve not read in the series). Unfortunately, I found out after the fact that this is not the book to fulfil my needs 😦

The most shocking bit for me about this book is the NIL raunchy factor. Yes, there was some kissing and there was that one implied hot & steamy sex but raunchiness… Nil. Nada. Zip. I’m not really complaining; I was just so shocked especially since the last few books were pretty full-on. It feels that Charlaine Harris is getting back into how things were. It feels more like the earlier books (Before True-Blood).

Things between Sookie & Eric weren’t quite hunky-dory though – as you would know, if you’ve read the previous book, the relationship was on shaky ground. Well, not that bad… but it’s not that good either… This relationship is certainly developing, maturing, but we didn’t really have that much time to worry about this special relationship. In this book, we are too busy with the murder mystery, ongoing progress of previous fairy conspiracy, and saving our own [Sookie’s] ass.

An easy and relatively entertaining read but it didn’t meet my expectations so I was a little bit let down… I think it’s time for a re-read of either book 4 or 8 ;p

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Review: Deadlocked

  1. Elizabeth

    Deadlocked is a filler book. It felt as though Harris was wrapping up all the loose ends from the other books in order to prepare for some major action (hopefully) in the final book of the series.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I don’t particularly have high hopes for the last book only that *fingers crossed* it will, at least, end somewhat good – yep, not too high at all ;p

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.