Tag Archives: #TheNorthWind

Blog Tour: The North Wind by Alexandria Warwick – review + giveaway INT

The North Wind
Alexandria Warwick
(The Four Winds, #1)
Publication date: January 13th 2022
Genres: Fantasy, New Adult, Romance

Lush. Dark. Romantic. Introducing a newly reimagined tale written in the vein of Beauty and the Beast and Hades and Persephone.

Long before civilization, there were the gods. And before the gods, there was the earth, the celestial bodies, and air given flesh. They are the Anemoi—the Four Winds—and they have been banished to the four corners of the world.

Wren of Edgewood is no stranger to suffering. Her parents are gone. Survival is all she knows. For three hundred years, the land known as the Gray has been encased in ice, surrounded by a great barrier called the Shade, which protects the townsfolk from the Deadlands beyond.

But day by day, the Shade weakens.

Only one thing can stop the Shade’s fall: a mortal woman taken captive across the barrier, bound in wedlock to the dark god who reigns over the Deadlands. He is the North Wind, the Frost King, an immortal whose heart is said to be as frigid as the land he rules.

And the time has come for the Frost King to choose his bride.

The North Wind is a standalone, enemies-to-lovers fantasy romance, the first in a series sprinkled with Greek lore. Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout, Laura Thalassa, and Scarlett St. Clair.

Goodreads / Amazon


Author Bio:

Alexandria Warwick is the #1 fan of Avatar: The Last Airbender. She is the author of The Demon Race and the North series.

Website / Goodreads / Newsletter / Instagram


GIVEAWAY! 2x ebook copies of The North Wind
a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

My Blurb (3.5 / 5 stars)

I’m always up for a retelling of Beauty and the Beast and anything related to it, really. The North Wind has elements of it but it also drew from other fairy tales and/or mythologies. It’s really a hodgepodge of takes of a variety of tales but that’s okay, it’s still an intriguing world with a strong protagonist and a fascinating love story.

A tense opening which introduced readers to just how dangerous this world is; not only from monster but also starvation as the world is slowly being crushed by continuous winter. This is a big part of the mystery, of course, as we are then introduced to the Frost King who required an offering of a young woman. Our protagonist, Wren, is not one of those on offering but her action brought her to his attention. There follows some enemies-to-lovers dynamics and some truly sloooow burn.

While I’m not usually keen on enemies-to-lovers, I do love a good slow burn romance. There is such a thing as being too slow though and I did find it that this one was rather a long story which could probably edited to make it sharper & faster paced. The world building was detailed but I find myself with questions in relation to the magic system. Overall, I love the romance but there could be some tidying up on some parts.

My thanks to Xpresso Book Tours for this copy of book in exchange of my honest thoughts