Review: Written in Black

Written in Black
Written in Black by K.H. Lim
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So I read this part of the blurb, ‘…Jonathan escapes his grandfather’s wake in an empty coffin and embarks on a journey through the backwaters of Brunei’ and looked at the cover and took it for granted that this is what I should expect from the book BUT… it is not; NOT AT ALL. The cover is rather metaphorical in nature and the blurb is not quite right. I guess he did jump into an empty coffin but it did not last long and he definitely did not go on the water in it. Was I disappointed? Yes, yes, I am very disappointed in my expectation.

On the other hand, it was an interesting book into the Brunei Chinese culture. As my ancestry is Chinese, I can relate to most of it though I’m not familiar with the funeral tradition but then again there are so many variations of it. Jonathan’s mother left a few months ago, ‘for health treatments’, but it’s been a long time since he’s spoken to her and there seems to be a conspiracy of preventing him from speaking to his mum or so he thinks. His older brother has also left home at around the same time; not keeping any sort of contacts and doing who knows what. Then suddenly, his grandfather (Ah Kong – Chinese for grandfather) died. Jonathan was unhappy and now his anger is also bubbling out of him. He needed to do something!

The ending was a little bit disappointing as I still feel issues are unclear and no firm resolution though sometimes that is life; you just have to take one day at a time.

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

