Review: Witch’s Pyre

Witch's Pyre
Witch’s Pyre by Josephine Angelini
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Lillian believes our experiences and our worlds make us. I believe our choices make our experiences and our worlds.”

The world is full of, what if or if only… It is one of the reasons why I enjoyed fantasy or alternate worlds/history novels. How does one little change affect the world’s history? It’s really quite hard to see how our decision could have a worldwide effect but sometimes, it’s a domino effect. It is therefore important to make the right decision. What is the right decision though?

I am amazed by Lily and the strength of her conviction. She’s afraid of pain (but who isn’t!) and so has developed a protective hard shell around herself. Can she save the world without saving herself first? Rowan, on the other hand, was frustratingly perfect, bleh! It’s pretty obvious I’m on the wrong team here (even at the reveal at the end, I’m still cheering for the other team!). And you know what, I think I like Lillian better too despite all her flaws and brokenness.

This final book in the Worldwalker trilogy opens within seconds of the ending of book 2 and we are shown a new sort of world or rather a city set apart, protected by the Hive. Things are never as they appear though as Lily and her friends discovered. The ending was a little bit anticlimactic to me… it ended the way it should, the way Lily wanted it to be but… this is my problem, I like the wrong characters and the wrong sort of plots! Nevertheless, it was still a fairly good read with some surprising twists I enjoyed.

Thanks to Pan Macmillan Australia for copy of book in exchange of honest review

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

