First Chapter, First Paragraph: Ahab’s Wife, or The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund

image

Every Tuesday Diane at Bibliophile by the Sea hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Introsto share the first paragraph sometimes two, of a book that she’s reading or planning to read soon.

Captain Ahab was neither my first husband nor my last. Yet, looking up–into the clouds–I conjure him there: his gray-white hair; his gathered brow; and the zaggy mark (I saw it when lying with him by candlelight and, also, taking our bliss on the sunny moor curly-cup gumweed and lamb’s ear). And I see a zaggy shadow now in the rifting clouds. That mark started like lightning at Ahab’s temple and ran not all the way to his heel (as some thought) but ended at Ahab’s heart.

ahabs-wifeAhab’s Wife, or The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund

A magnificent, vast, and enthralling saga, Sena Jeter Naslund’s Ahab’s Wife is a remarkable epic spanning a rich, eventful, and dramatic life. Inspired by a brief passage in Moby Dick, it is the story of Una, exiled as a child to live in a lighthouse, removed from the physical and emotional abuse of a religion-mad father. It is the romantic adventure of a young woman setting sail in a cabin boy’s disguise to encounter darkness, wonder, and catastrophe; the story of a devoted wife who witnesses her husband’s destruction by obsession and madness. Ultimately it is the powerful and moving story of a woman’s triumph over tragedy and loss through her courage, creativity, and intelligence.

Based on this intro, would you read more or pass on this book?

 

10 thoughts on “First Chapter, First Paragraph: Ahab’s Wife, or The Star-Gazer by Sena Jeter Naslund

  1. lakesidemusing

    I’ve been curious about this book for a long time, but have never picked it up. I’m tempted by the intro and by the fact that my husband’s cousin knows the author. Will be curious to hear what you think!

    Reply
  2. Suzie Quint

    I’m not sure this would be for me though it does intrigue me that it’s inspired by a vague reference in the original book.

    Reply
  3. Emma

    Oh I don’t know. I have never read Moby Dick no not sure this would hold my interest…will wait for the review 😄

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

