Blog Tour (Review & Giveaway): Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

About the book

Words in Deep Blue

Second-hand bookshops are full of mysteries

This is a love story.

It’s the story of Howling Books, where readers write letters to strangers, to lovers, to poets.

It’s the story of Henry Jones and Rachel Sweetie. They were best friends once, before Rachel moved to the sea. 

Now, she’s back, working at the bookstore, grieving for her brother Cal and looking for the future in the books people love, and the words they leave behind.

Sometimes you need the poets

My Blurb

Life is the big scheme; death is the little one at the end

I loved visiting second-hand bookshops though these days I don’t actually know whether there is one in my neighbourhood. Nowadays, I buy second-hand books from Vinnies so they don’t usually have that “old” feels to them. And to be honest, I hate seeing things underlined or highlighted in books though I do like the little penciled (not penned) notes. I haven’t, however, found anything that meaningful in my books or maybe I just haven’t the imagination to find meaning in old bus/train tickets. The idea, however, is utterly charming.

The thing about the Letter Library at Howling Books is that you leave actual letters / notes to people who mean something to you. Rachel Sweetie has never been able to grasp the point of this exercise for what use is words? They’re just words. They’re there but they don’t DO anything in the scheme of life. She’s a scientist and she believes in the moon and the tides. Henry Jones, on the other hand, is a poet. He loves words. He believes in the power of words. And yet, they are the best of friends until… they weren’t. Years later, Rachel returned; stricken by grief, angry, and numb. 10 years of friendship, however, cannot be ignored.

I loved Rachel. Her strength impressed me from the very beginning; she’s been struck down by a grief so profound and yet, life still flickered inside of her. It was amazing to see that fire being stoke back to life and seeing her grasp life once again. Henry, on the other hand, didn’t quite impress me. I am fascinated by his family and, most especially, his family home! I wasn’t sure though I could like a real life Henry. His one redeeming fact is that he’s a reader and that he’s really a terrific friend. All the secondary characters though were brilliantly alive. I love the diverse cast of characters: Lola & Hiroko with their music, George (Henry’s sister) & Martin and his mums, etc.

Words in Deep Blue is a book about books (& words), of love and grief, of friendship and finding one’s feet. It is poignant and funny at the same time. It is wonderful collection of words strung into a beautiful story; one I’d highly recommend as it will delight many hearts.

Thanks to Pan Macmillan Australia for copy of book in exchange of honest review

About the author

Cath Crowley is a young adult author published in Australia and internationally. She is the author of The Gracie Faltrain trilogy, Chasing Charlie Duskin, and Graffiti Moon. In 2011, Graffiti Moon won the Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Young Adult Fiction, the Ethel Turner Award for Young People’s Literature, and was named an honour book in the Children’s Book Council, Book of the Year. Cath writes and teaches in Melbourne.

Find Cath on: goodreads  |  website  |  tumblr  |  twitter

Giveaway (AU only)

I have 1 brand new copy of this book to giveaway but Australian address only (sorry, peeps, can’t afford overseas shipping :/). To enter, simply leave me a comment on what book would you leave your letter in and why OR who would you leave a letter to at the Letter Library.

I will contact the winner on Saturday, 1 October for his/her postal details.

8 thoughts on “Blog Tour (Review & Giveaway): Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

  1. Mary Preston

    We have an excellent second hand book store near to us. My son actually went there today. I usually lose him for hours when he does go. The stores are a dying breed though.

    I’d leave my letter in a copy of A NIGHT TO REMEMBER by Walter Lord. I know I am not the only person haunted by the events of the Titanic. I’d reach out to lost souls.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I miss having 2nd hand book stores! Though I do take my son to book sales like that huge scholastic ones and he, of course, would want every book!

      Reply
  2. Booknut101 (@Booknut101)

    Great post! I would leave a letter in The Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter and it would be for/to those who are unsure of their place in life. Not only because I could totally relate and I’d love to let them know they’re not alone, but because I feel like they could also find solace in The Girl of the Limberlost’s beautiful tale like I once did 🙂

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I’ve never heard of this book! It sounds beautiful! I looked it up on GR and noted that it’s book 2 though sounds like it could be read on its own?

      Reply
  3. Noelene

    I would leave a letter in My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. I think any books that expose a moral dilemma would be my choice.

    Reply
  4. Veronica

    I’d leave a letter for my daughter in All That is Lost Between Us. Sara Foster writes about mother teen relationships with great insight.

    Reply
  5. reallifebeautyphotography

    I would leave it in a social work text book in the reference library at uni. As it is incredibly stressful and sometimes the best thing is the smallest feedback.
    remember to believe in yourself firstly, you need to love yourself first.

    Reply
  6. Read3r'z Re-Vu Blog

    I would leave a letter for Sophie from Hate is such a Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub – it would be a letter of thanks for being true to herself and for helping me remember it’s ok to have an independent train of thought regardless of social convention

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

