Review: Legacy of Kings

Legacy of Kings
Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Legacy of Kings is not a book I’d normally pick up but as it was received in a goodie bag from Harlequin AU (thanks very much!!), I gave it a go anyway. And… I’m so glad I did! I NEED book 2 right now! Thankfully, I don’t think I have long to wait at all.

This was slow to start especially with the multiple POVs as the storytelling moved each chapter to different POVs. As usual, the problem with multiple POVs is how the readers developed a preferred attachment to some characters and get frustrated with the other POVs in between. This was an issue at the beginning but by the end of the book, I LOVE ALL the characters; even Cynane, the crazy cat!

The mystery was fairly easy to guess but the suspense as we follow the characters in uncovering them was exciting. Of course, the battle was also very thrilling. It was also a joy to immerse myself in an ancient world so widely different from today’s day-to-day living and beliefs.

Legacy of Kings is a world shrouded in conspiracies and betrayals but in such adversity, one finds love and loyalty are all the more fierce. It’s a fairly clean YA fantasy historical fiction with a touch of romance and is quite easy to read. All you have to do is get used to the switching of POVs for the first half the book and you’ll enjoy the read.

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

