Review: Matched

matchedMatched by Ally Condie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: purchased own paperback copy

I added this to my TBR because the person who recommended it saw some similarities with another book I like though except for that one particular thing, there wasn’t really much else. However, it’s funny how I kept getting flashes of other dystopian…

The novel opens with Cassia on the train, on her way to her Matching ceremony. I had in my mind of Katniss on her way to the Capital. The way she’s surrounded with all the glamour that is a contract with the drabness of real life. That’s all the reference to THG I’m going to make though as the rest of the novel is so very reminiscent of The Giver by Lois Lowry. There were quite a number of similarities: the lack of colours, the tablets, old age/dying, vocations, etc. The difference here is the romance which was missing in The Giver.

Despite all my thoughts meandering over to other dystopian novels, Matched has been a fairly engaging read, mostly due to the romance. I also liked the number of ‘bombs’ dropped near the end and I’m wondering what other twists will be introduced in the rest of the trilogy. So, I’ll be looking those up though probably not in any hurry to do so.

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

