Review: A Curious Beginning

a curious beginningA Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: eARC courtesy of publisher

Historical mysteries featuring unconventional heroines are one of my favourites. On the top of my favourites are Phryne Fisher, Maisie Dobbs and Adelia Aguilar. Each of these series were unique in their own rights: Phryne Fisher’s mysteries are set in the 1920s and are such good fun to read, Maisie Dobbs are set in the same era but carry a more serious undertone with a rather Hercule Poirot sort of approach to the mysteries, and Adelia Aguilar is set in medieval England but with such a peculiar character, she appeals to you just as much as Phryne Fisher.

A Curious Beginning began well enough as we are introduced to Veronica Speedwell’s awry thoughts as she buried her aunt. It wasn’t long, however, before I found that she tries too hard to shock people and this really annoys me. I like shocking, unusual / unconventional heroines but in Veronica Speedwell’s case, it didn’t seem natural… it felt like a put-on act. There were also too many repetitions about her sexual adventures and her rule of keeping clear of British men… Say it once or twice but no more, please. I am sad to say that I do not like Veronica Speedwell.

On the other hand, I do love Stoker! I love his physique. I love his rudeness (you all know he’s hiding something, right?). I love the mystery of his past! I enjoyed most of the interaction between Veronica and Stoker and since I have a predilection for “circus” in fiction, I love that part of the story. The big twist or the reason Veronica is on the run, unfortunately, wasn’t a surprise to me. I was disappointed that the story was not more unpredictable.

The cover and the author were the first things to draw my interest. I’ve enjoyed Deanna Raybourn’s historical romance and really thought A Curious Beginning has good potential. It was a fairly easy read and I still enjoyed Raybourn’s prose; I’ve loved the world building in this novel. So, casting annoying main protagonist aside, A Curious Beginning was an entertaining read.

Thanks to NAL via Edelweiss for eARC in exchange of honest review

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

