Review: Woman of the Dead

woman of the deadWoman of the Dead by Bernhard Aichner
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Source: Uncorrected proof courtesy of publisher via The Reading Room

I didn’t think I’m really into antiheroes much but very early this year, I was completely taken by surprise by how much I love Candice Fox’s Eden Archer (Archer & Bennett). I rated these 2 books 5 stars (I don’t give very many 5-stars ratings) so I had pretty high expectation for Woman of the Dead. This is a very different book though quite good on its own merit.

The story opens with a very chilling prologue –which I adored (call me crazy, if you like) but the main story takes place 8 years after this prologue. And things could not have been more different; the readers are greeted with a happy domestic scene. This, of course, did not last for more than a few minutes. The pain & grief that followed felt very real and so were utterly raw. The rest of the book alternated between feeling numbed and deepest anguish.

Brunhilde Blum doesn’t kick ass. She is not an experienced sleuth. She is not a trained assassin. She is an undertaker. She lashed out from fear and for revenge. Her actions were not fully thought out / planned; in fact, some of them were near disastrous that it’s almost hilarious. With a high dose of good luck and some help from her assistant, she forged ahead to make sure the world is a safer place for her daughters.

Whilst I sympathise with Blum, she doesn’t particularly trigger any strong emotion from me and I don’t find myself cheering for her. There were, however, quite a number of factors I like in Woman of the Dead: the raw description of grief, the twists, and the prologue & epilogue. This appears to be the first book in a trilogy so I would be very interested in the next instalment to see how she develops.

Thanks Hachette Australia via The Reading Room for copy of book in exchange of honest review

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Woman of the Dead

  1. aentee @ read at midnight

    This one sounds intriguing despite the unrelatable protagonist like you stated. Sound like a riveting thriller read, thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

