Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

minnow blyThe Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Source: Uncorrected proof courtesy of publisher

I always say that I’m not a fan of contemporary YA but this book was just… amazing! When I first read the blurb, I really thought it wasn’t for me. It just sounds too heartbreaking but after the very high recommendation by the Harper Collins YA team, I had to read this. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly blew my mind to smithereens… I’m still trying to pick up the pieces.

The combination of ‘cult’ and ‘hands’, in the blurb, reminded me so much of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale so when I first started to read, it didn’t quite feel like ‘contemporary YA’. The weird and crazy cult is nearly on the same wavelength as Atwood’s world but The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is definitely set in the current period of time and on known location on earth. There is no denying of the ‘contemporary YA’ genre but my (malfunctioned) brain disagreed somewhat. This only help me love the book more!

Firstly, I love the tightness of the language. I found the sentences to be succinct. They were short and sweet and to the point. It was a no-nonsense approach with no superfluous descriptions. Considering that Minnow is a very confused girl, this technique really helps to structure the story in a way that makes sense to the reader. In addition, as the story is told from Minnow’s perspective, it also gives the readers a sense that Minnow, deep down, really is a sensible sort of girl.

Minnow Bly rocks my world. She is one of the strongest female character ever. There are lots of kick-ass heroines out there, the ones who can ‘literally’ kick-ass BUT to come out on top in mind games… that takes the cake! This is a girl whose brain actually ticks on its own steam. She was taken on a merry-go-round but her own sparks refused to be put out. It began with little things and as she went forward, with the right people guiding her, her mind is her own. I loved also how she doesn’t let “love” supersede herself.

Still wondering whether to read this book? DON’T! You need this in your life. This is one book I’d not hesitate to recommend to people regardless of age / maturity / genre preference. I’d give a warning of some swear words but otherwise, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a book worthwhile getting your teeth into.

Thanks HarperCollins Australia for copy of book in exchange of honest review

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

  1. aentee @ read at midnight

    This book sounds absolutely fascinating as cults aren’t usually a topic of YA books. You wrote such a great and convincing review as well. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

