Review: Northern Heat

northern heatNorthern Heat by Helene Young
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Source: paperback copy courtesy of publisher

Northern Heat was a fun and comfortable read. I purposely chose this book to accompany me on my first back at work so I have something to look forward to in the cold and dark morning train rides. It was a good pick as it was easy to read and drew me right into its world (which was fantastic, considering that we’re in the middle of winter whilst the book is set in the middle of a scorching summer).

The story opens on a hot and sticky morning in which Conor found himself an unwitting witness to a crime. As he isn’t a local and with his secret past, he easily became a suspect. Was he just at the wrong place at the wrong time or has his past found him at last?

Along with Dr Kristy Dark (Conor’s love interest), there are quite a few interesting characters and each with their own cross to bear. Kristy has recently settled in town; widowed and with a teen daughter, Abby, struggling to find their own feet. Freya looks polished at all times but yet lives in fear of her life and her children’s. These issues unravelled just as the weather broke and tension ran high.

I didn’t have a clear expectation of this book so I was surprised at being surprised with the romantic content. It was written a little more like what you’d expect in a romance novel with tensions running high between the two main characters and the way they described each other; I guess I really wasn’t expecting there to be that much romance. I do read (and love) my share of romance novels so I found this just as exciting as the mystery / suspense part of the story. If you’re not a fan of romance, this may not be the book for you though if you’re crazy about romance, you may be disappointed.

Thanks to Penguin Australia for copy of book in exchange of honest review

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

