Review: Turtle Reef

turtle reefTurtle Reef by Jennifer Scoullar
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: paperback copy courtesy of publisher

Jennifer Scoullar’s Currawong Creek was the first Aussie rural romance I’ve ever read –it was sweet, it was heart-warming. It won me over and made me want to read lots more of the genre. Hence, my interest in Turtle Creek. Scoullar’s love for nature truly comes alive in these pages and is beautifully highlighted in this tale of romance.

It was a bit of a tough first half to read. It was slow to engage and there were a few roll-the-eyes moments for me. I just couldn’t connect with Zoe who at first, swore off men and in the next chapter, found herself pretty much fallen for Quinn. Yes, it was repeated that she’s sworn off men and had to work hard to resist Quinn but still she let herself daydream about being with Quinn. I found this whole business frustrating and unbelievable. On top of that, I also found Quinn to be quite aggravating (most especially when he decided what Zoe should drink, TWICE!). I just couldn’t get into this romance story.

The mystery part of the story was quite enjoyable. I liked the way clues were dropped and Zoe’s spunk in taking on the investigation. The resolution, however, deflated me. I think, being a mystery buff, I expected some sort of twist or at least, something a little more convoluted. This might have to do with having just finished a mystery/thriller novel prior to reading this book.

The best bits about this book, however, was the prose on nature. Scoullar trotted out one after another amazing pieces of this world (eg. dolphins, octopus, dugongs, etc) in such a skilful way of weaving into the story without it all being too much. Turtle Reef is basically an invitation to the readers to enjoy and protect this beautiful world we have been blessed with.

Thanks to Penguin Books Australia for copy of book in exchange of honest review

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

