Review: Betrayal

betrayalBetrayal by Lara Morgan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Source: eARC courtesy of publisher

Note: this review is in relation to book 2 of The Twins of Saranthium and may contain spoilers to book 1, Awakening (my review of Awakening)

I picked up Betrayal because I remembered the promise of Awakening. I wanted to find out the answers to some of the questions from Awakening. Plus the lure of an adventure in a world of Serpents and old gods was too exciting to ignore.

Betrayal was an exciting read: magical powers are unfurled, secrets revealed, more interesting characters, etc. A fast-paced read with suspense built up right to the end. I also like my fantasy to be imbued with some romance and Betrayal really just hit that sweet spot. All in all, a very comfortable read for me.

I have enjoyed Betrayal more than Awakening because as the world is firmly set-up in Awakening, there is plenty of development in terms of characters and plot. It was an easy and enjoyable read that I read in pretty much a single sitting. I cannot wait for the next book! Please hurry, Ms Morgan!

Thanks, Escape Publishing, for copy or eARC via NetGalley

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

