Review: The Paying Guests

the paying guestsThe Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: Uncorrected proof courtesy of publisher

This is only the second book of Sarah Waters I’ve read. Whilst she’s well-known for writing GLBT themed books –this isn’t the reason I picked this book up. My interest in her works lay within the era she’s written these 2 books in (the first half of 20th century) and the atmosphere she’s brilliantly woven in her stories which is felt just so right for the time. If you’ve never read any of her works before, you should… as it really will capture your mind and pulled your heart into the past.

The Paying Guests met all my expectations with the historical feels though I struggled with the size and found the plot a tad boring for the first half. It was so slow though it really was an essential set-up for the second half of the book where a certain incident blew everything out of the water. From then on, I was pretty much on the edge of my seat. I was kept guessing (just like the characters did) of what would and / or should happen next right to the end. The suspense is like that of a good thriller novel.

There are books that are un-put-down-able and there are books that needed to be digested at a gentle pace. The Paying Guests falls within the latter category; it was an enjoyable read though required patience and it was one to be savoured slowly.

Thank you, Hachette Australia & The Reading Room, for copy of Uncorrected Proof

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

