Review: Allegiant

allegiant Allegiant by Veronica Roth
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Source: purchased own paperback copy

First I must note that I wasn’t one of those who raved about Divergent when it was released few years ago. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it either. It was a pretty average read for me… a quick & easy read that didn’t really encourage me to pick up the second book. It took some time for me to get to Insurgent though the ending of that book made me really excited for the next installment.

Allegiant is another quick & easy read –easy to put down and pick up wherever you left off too. Being the type of reader I am though, I finished it in no time at all even when I didn’t skim (I think this is an easy book to just skim through if you’re curious about the ending but don’t want to read all of the book). I am settling for another average rating for this book because…

1. There seems to be some sort of formula with this trilogies:

Displacement ✓

Dishonest Leaders ✓ (um, what does this say about our own political leaders?

Rebellion ✓

Tris wanting to do something different or more than the rebels ✓

Etc…

2. I actually didn’t mind the ending which I think where most fans will / had complained about. Although I did find that particular incident to be just too anticlimactic. It didn’t provoke any sort of reaction whatsoever –I just shrugged my shoulders and went on with the read…

3. I might have read this part (between the lines) incorrectly but I thought there was some sort of ‘hint’ as to what the password is to get into that room but it wasn’t even thought of, afterwards?

In summary, I’m not totally keen on Allegiant but… I did manage to read the whole book without any attempts to chuck it at the wall so I figure this would rate as pretty average for me.

I re-read Divergent with a little more excitement (um, hello, Theo James!!, Can you blame me?!) just prior to the release of the movie but it was still not one I loved completely. And when I finally picked up Allegiant, it was because I needed a break in between some serious adult historical fiction novels I’ve been reading. It’s done its trick and now, I just want to see more of Theo James…

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Allegiant

Would love to hear your thoughts...

