Review: The House on Burra Burra Lane

the house on burra burra lane - jennie jonesThe House on Burra Burra Lane by Jennie Jones

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: paperback copy courtesy of publisher

I was just in the mood for some light reading after some classics & literary works. The House on Burra Burra Lane definitely fits the bill and lightened up my day. An easygoing and entertaining read with (of course) an HEA are requisites for an Aussie outback romance to my mind. I found all these in Jennie Jones’ debut.

I loved the opening of the book –a massive pig, a damsel in distress, a down-to-earth-knight-in-shining-armor… It was funny. It was electric. It sets the tone of the book. Samantha Walker is truly a likeable character; a city chick after a treechange with an all-can-do attitude. Ethan Granger might have chosen a solitary life after some disastrous past; somewhat reserved but still unable to not be around Sammy. This tension and secrets will keep you turning the pages until all is revealed.

The secrets or what I think it supposed to be the twist to the story, unfortunately, didn’t surprise me at all. I was actually a little disappointed to be proven right and wished there was something more unexpected. There was also one particular bit in the book which I thought was off; a particular usage of a word which I thought was out of place in this book though it might work well in a different type of romance novel. I was otherwise kept entertained enough to enjoy a light romantic fling in the outback.

The House on Burra Burra Lane is a light romantic read which will help smooth your day; perfect for the beach / poolside in the summer.

Thank you, Harlequin Books Australia, for copy of this book

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

