Australia Day Book Giveaway Blog Hop (2014)

australiadaybloghop2014

Thanks to Shelleyrae @Book’d Out for hosting this hop.

This year I’ve decided to list the Aussie books I’ve read in 2013 for the winners to choose from:

Wow, somehow, I didn’t imagine my list to be so long!  However, the types of books are diverse enough that I believe there is something for everybody here. Onto the nuts & bolts for this giveaway!

  1. This giveaway is for 2 books (1 book per winner): one book by female author and one book by male author.
  2. Giveaway is open internationally.
  3. Your choice of print book or ebook however this will depend on availability and whether TBD will ship freely to your location.
  4. If your chosen book is not available either from TBD or as ebook, you agee to choose another book.
  5. The edition of the book will be up to my discretion whilst you are most welcome to request which one you’d like.  I do have a budget to work under 🙂
  6. If you are under the age of 18, you have the consent of your parents / guardians to enter this giveaway.

To enter this giveaway, go to Rafflecopter Giveaway, but before you do… please leave a comment on what your choice would be (you can change your mind later) and which Aussie author I should check out (this is worth 2 points).  Please do not leave your email address in the comment (only on the comment form as requested). I will contact winners only.

Don’t forget to visit the other stops – check out the list here.  Other than that, have a fantastic & safe Australia Day long weekend!!

103 thoughts on “Australia Day Book Giveaway Blog Hop (2014)

  1. Catherine

    Listening to Country and I for Isobel both sound fabulous. I would happily pick either of these and don’t think I can choose between them…

    Reply
      1. Mark Squires

        A great list you have compiled there. I would pick Jasper Jones – as it’s on my list to read – came highly recommended from a friend who told me it’s the best Australian book she has read in years. Am also currently reading The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon!

        Another Aussie author whose book I’ve not long finished reading was Sherryl’ Caulfield’s Seldom Come By. Set in Newfoundland on the eve of WWI. Quite a moving story. A good blend of history, scenery, romance and tragedy.

    1. Tien Post author

      Both fantastic reads, great choice!
      I’ll definitely have to read one of Robotham’s one day. Which would you recommend should I start with?

      Reply
      1. Tien Post author

        Ick, it’s #7 in the series! I’m not sure if I can override my OCD about reading from the beginning…?!?!?! I’ll let you know, ha ha ha

  2. Benjamin Travia

    I’d probably choose The Riders…Honestly, I don’t read much Australian fiction so I can’t recommend anyone.

    Reply
  3. brendat59

    The Railwayman’s Wife would be wonderful! I recommend many of our Aussie authors, we have amazing talent in our country! Helene Young, Bronwyn Parry, Jaye Ford, Lee Christine, Michael Robotham, Katherine Howell, Kathryn Fox, Bryce Courtenay, Karly Lane, Fiona McIntosh, Katie W. Stewart, Loretta Hill, P.D. Martin, Sandy Curtis, and of course there are many, many more 🙂

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      oh wow, plenty of recs there, thanks, Brenda!
      I’ve read some (Fox, McIntosh) and have heard of some but a lot whom sounded unfamiliar though I may recognise their works. Thanks 🙂

      Reply
  4. carlrscott

    That’s an impressive list indeed. I would be likely to pick Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff but I might change my mind. I would feel like quite a boob trying to find an Aussie author with whom you are not already familiar. I’ll just say thanks for providing so much fodder for my TBR list.

    Reply
  5. Elizabeth Lhuede

    I still haven’t read M L Stedman’s The Light Between the Oceans, so that would be my pick. As for a recommendation – only one? It’d have to be Margo Lanagan’s Seahearts (aka The Brides of Rollrock Island).

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Oh, I believe I actually have that one on my bookshelf! I will have to make a point to read it this year then, thanks, Elizabeth 🙂

      Reply
  6. Mystica

    Listening to Country would be my choice. I wouldn’t be able to recommend an author as my knowledge of Australian authors is minimal.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Ah, not to worry, I hope you’ll get some good ones of my read list 😉
      Good luck with the giveaway.

      Reply
  7. Emma

    What a great list!The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay.
    recommendation Katherine Howell, Kathryn Fox, Bryce Courtenay, Karly Lane, Fiona McIntosh and more.

    Reply
  8. Lobroo

    What an eclectic list – some old favourites and some new friends to explore! I would love to read Timeless Land – sounds like a good mix between fiction and facts. If you haven’t read it Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth is a great read.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Sometimes I’m not sure whether I should be proud about my eclectic list or feel a little miserable that I haven’t quite indulge in my fave fantasy ;p
      I’ve got Bitter Greens on my bookshelf too! Another time to dust this year!

      Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      hhhm, interesting choices, heavy and light. Reckon Currawong Creek would probably be good to read to recover after The Light Between the Oceans.
      Good luck with the giveaway.

      Reply
  9. Karen H

    I would choose Finnikin of the Rock and I highly recommend The Black Magician Trilogy by Trudi Canavan.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Good choice & rec! Loved The Black Magician Trilogy! I’ve got to get onto her newest trilogy though since all of the books are out now 😀

      Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      A lovely choice, Margaret. I believe I bought Jenny Schwartz’s steampunk novella on my ereader last year; can’t remember if I’ve read it yet though -probably not!
      Good luck with the giveaway.

      Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      A wonderful choice, Shannon.
      I don’t think I’ve heard your rec so I’ll have to look that one up, cheers!

      Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      ooh, I loved this mystery book! great choice for a mystery buff!
      I’ve not heard of Amanda Curtin, thanks.

      Reply
  10. divabooknerd

    Jasper Jones. I’ve had that one on my list for quite a while, but haven’t got around to buying it. Have you read The Tribe series by Ambelin Kwaymullina? Brilliant young adult dystopian series with an indigenous touch. Simply brilliant.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Ah! You NEED to read Jasper Jones – just absolutely Great Read!
      Yes, I have heard of The Tribe series actually, I’ve got the first one to read soon 🙂

      Reply
  11. rlsharpe

    Wow, you’ve read a huge list of Australian authors, good on you. I would pick Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff and I would recommend you read Paula Weston (Shadows, Haze) she writes amazing YA paranormal romance.
    Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      heh, yea, I didn’t realise I’ve read that many til I listed them either.
      Thanks for the rec, I’ll check her out 🙂 paranormal romance is my guilty pleasure 😉
      Good luck with the giveaway

      Reply
  12. A Reader's Heaven

    Hiya, love the list – something to aspire to, that’s for sure.

    My choice would be “Death by the Book” by Lenny Bartulin. I have the 2nd book in the series but would love to read the first.

    Reply
      1. Tien Post author

        Thank you, I think I’ve read one of Jones’ and have another on to-read list. I’ve read a couple of Evans and have another to-read on the bookshelf 🙂

  13. Nara

    Probably Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff! I’ve read and own Stormdancer, but haven’t gotten around to reading the second book yet.
    Hmmm…I’d recommend reading These Broken Stars which is written by both an Aussie author and an American author 🙂

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Thanks, Nara. I’ve heard some good things on These Broker Stars so I may just have to pick it up sooner than later 😉

      Reply
  14. Ashfa

    I really, badly want Kinslayer (Lotus War #2) by Jay Kristoff. have you read books by Liane Moriarty?

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I’d want it badly too if I haven’t yet, Ashfa 😉 It’s an awesome book!
      I haven’t read anything by Liane Moriarty yet though she is on my to-read list, thanks!

      Reply
  15. Karla Oleinikoff

    Malicious Intent by Kathryn Fox sounds fascinating.
    My favourite Australian author would have to be Mary Grant Bruce and her Billabong series. I’ve reread them many times, and they are just wonderful.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Thanks, Karla, I really need to catch up with the Aussie classics! I missed out because I grew up overseas though hopefully I’d get to catch up on these together with my son -that would be a wonderful adventure!

      Reply
  16. Karen Stalker

    Hi Tien
    I loved The Light Between Oceans, it was a fabulous read. I think, if I had to choose, I would choose The French Promise by Fiona McIntosh or Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey.
    A couple of years ago I read “Wanting” by Richard Flanagan. I have also recently enjoyed some great books by Deborah Burrows and Jenn J McLeod.
    Thanks for a great list of books, I now have an extended TBR list!
    Happy Australia Day
    Karen

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Great choices though I am leaning towards Jasper Jones more, though mostly because I’ve read it more recently than The French Promise and it’s still in my head 🙂
      Loved “Wanting” when I read it a couple of years ago and I have Flanagan’s recent work to read too, soon… 😉
      Both of those authors are on my radar to read one day, thanks.

      Reply
  17. Leeswammes

    Thanks for the giveaway. The First Third looks like something I’d enjoy a lot!

    I’m sure you’ve read The Slap by Christopher Tsiolkas. But if you’ve not… you must!

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Wonderful pick, Judith! The First Third was an amazing read, Will Kostakis is one to watch out for 🙂
      I’ve to shamefully admit that I’ve yet to tackle The Slap -the sheer size of it! But you’re right, I must! I’m going to try to fit that into one of my challenges this year so I don’t have any other excuse NOT to pick it up

      Reply
  18. faith hope & cherrytea

    I’ve really enjoyed Kate Morton’s Secret Keeper – an author not on your list – something to check out…
    Haven’t been thru the entire list but 2 I’d consider great options for me [& ty for linking to gdrds]
    The Women in Black or The Honey FLow [at this point!]

    TY for your generosity =) and great reading list of introductions for this Canadian book luver!
    HapPy AU Day 😉

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Oh, I loved The Secret Keeper – I must’ve read it the year before? I can’t quite remember when but I do remember reading & loving it! I have to admit that I couldn’t find it in me to like The Forgotten Garden 😦
      I hope you find lots to add to your TBR for Aussie lits 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  19. lfountain1

    Thank you so much for this amazing giveaway!!

    I would choose ~

    The Riders by Tim Winton

    •Shadowfell (Shadowfell #1) by Juliet Marillier

    Thank you so much x

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I adore Shadowfell, I’ve Raven Flight to read and I’m really looking forward to The Caller this coming few months!
      Good luck with the giveaway 🙂

      Reply
  20. vero g

    Its a hard choices because are amazing books, I love Juliet Marillier books o maybe Melina Marchetta

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      They are both great authors, vero! Guess it depends on your mood 🙂
      Good luck on the giveaway & thanks for dropping by

      Reply
  21. noelleclarkblog

    Wow! What a fabulous list of books! Over on my Book’d Out Australia Day post, I’ve reminisced about a book I read in the 1960s. Hope you have a great Australia Day, and hope you get to read all these great books in 2014!

    Reply
  22. womblywoo

    I would choose The Railway Man’s Wife, I looked for it to buy yesterday but couldn’t find it here.
    I bought another Australia women writer’s book instead (Good news,bad news)

    Reply
  23. Lily Malone

    I would love to read Light Between The Oceans. As for recommending: I saw Sarah Belle get a mention above for Hindsight. Kate Belle’s The Yearning was my fave book of 2013; and Michael Robotham – can’t recommend him highly enough.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Am about to read The Yearning, Lily. and I’ve added Hindsight to my to-read list, geez… I think I might be regretting this request for recs! lol

      Reply
  24. Mary Preston

    I think I would choose “Oscar and Lucinda” by Peter Carey.

    It’s been a while since I read it but “Seven Little Australians” by Ethel Turner is a fantastic read.

    Reply
  25. Sally Howes

    I would love to win The Light Between Oceans or The Riders.

    As for an author to check out, I love classics, so I would say Miles Franklin – she was so far ahead of her time!

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I’ve only read My Brilliant Career – which I supposed is what she is known well for. Would you recommend any other particular one?

      Reply
  26. Pingback: My Reading Week | Tien's Blurb

  27. Antonia

    My choice is Finnikin of the Rock. I love Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley and Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Thank you!! 🙂

    Reply
  28. Myra White

    I think I’d choose either Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff, or, something by Isobelle Carmody ro Melina Marchetta (I’ve read most of their books but I don’t own them al yet!).

    And if you like fantasy I’d recommend Trudi Canavan, I adore her!

    Reply
  29. Jess

    I’m torn there’s so many great authors there and so many I haven’t had a chance to get to yet either. In the end I’m going with Jasper Jones.
    As for my recommendations, I highly recommend Maurren McCarthy (in particular her book When You Wake And FInd Me Gone), as well as Jaye Ford – she’s a crime/thriller author and I noticed there weren’t many recognisable names for that genre there. Fiona McIntosh is another fantastic aussie author that I can’t recommend enough. She does historical fiction as well as fantasy which I noticed you like both genres.

    Reply
  30. Kristia

    I’d love to win Kinslayer (Lotus War #2) by Jay Kristoff. I would recommend you to read Melina Marchetta but you already have, so I don’t know who else to recommend 🙂
    Thank you for the international giveaway!

    Reply
  31. Irena

    i’d like to win A corner of White.
    i like Melina Marchetta and David Estes, athough i’m not sure if he is an aussie writer. i know he lives in Australia but he was born in USA.

    Reply
  32. Roxana Z.

    I’d choose The French Promise by Fiona McIntosh or Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff. Thank you for the giveaway and you should check out Kate Morton :).

    Reply
  33. Jaime Lynn

    There are a few that I would like to have, so I am not sure which just yet. Maybe Stormdancer? I have wanted to read that one for a long time now. And as far as recommendations, Jessica Shirvington who I am sure that you have read already. Or the Wintercraft series by Jenna Burtenshaw. Thank you so much for the giveaway. I love learning about books that we don’t have here in the US. We miss out on some amazing ones, I tell ya!

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

