Truth or Dare: Bookshop Visits

truth-or-dare-banner

This is a meme hosted by JennaDoesBooks and this week’s challenges are:

TRUTH: Tell us about a book-related event you have attended!
DARE: Go into a bookstore and take three pictures of books that catch your eye. Talk about them!

I’m not sure whether the Dare was supposed to be a vlog but as I’ve got a cold, I really don’t feel like talking much so… apologies, all you’re getting is a little spiel on my bookshops visitations.  Yes, you read that right… bookshopS.

At first, I was only going to visit the closest one to my office at one lunchtime but then… I saw this…

RedIntern

I thought, “What Fun! And since I was planning on going to one bookshop, I might as well go a little bit further and walk to 3 different ones.”  I managed this in 1 hour lunch time with plenty of time leftover so you can imagine how close my office is to 3 bookshops (it’s really not a good thing for me).  I had no luck in finding the red cover but I found the walk to be really good, especially since I had the perfect weather for it 🙂  For more information on the hunt, go to Gabrielle Tozer’s website.

Onto the books!

Intern

The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Josie Browning dreams of having it all.

A stellar academic record, an amazing career in journalism – and for her current crush to realise she actually exists. The only problem? Josie can’t get through twenty-four hours without embarrassing her sister Kat or her best friend Angel, let alone herself.

Josie’s luck changes though when she lands an internship at the glossy fashion magazine Sash. A coveted columnist job is up for grabs, but Josie’s got some tough competition in the form of two other interns. Battle lines are drawn and Josie quickly learns that the magazine industry is far from easy, especially under the reign of powerful editor, Rae Swanson.

From the lows of coffee-fetching and working 10-hour days, to the highs of mingling with celebrities, scoring endless free beauty products (plus falling for her cousin’s seriously gorgeous flatmate James) this is one year Josie will never forget.

Totally fresh and funny, this debut novel from industry insider Gabrielle Tozer reveals just what is behind the seeming glamour and sparkle of the magazine industry.

Not my typical read, I have to admit, but looking at the absolutely chic cover, I’m tempted to get one each to grace my bookshelf.  Won’t they look fantastic?!  It sounds to be a very fun read though, I would probably love it despite reaching out of my comfort zone.  It’s definitely one to seriously consider noting that it will also fit within my AWW2014 challenge.  Congratulations, Gabrielle Tozer, on the release of your debut novel!

Kingdom of Little SoundsThe Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

A young seamstress and a royal nursemaid find themselves at the center of an epic power struggle in this stunning young-adult debut.

On the eve of Princess Sophia’s wedding, the Scandinavian city of Skyggehavn prepares to fete the occasion with a sumptuous display of riches: brocade and satin and jewels, feasts of sugar fruit and sweet spiced wine. Yet beneath the veneer of celebration, a shiver of darkness creeps through the palace halls. A mysterious illness plagues the royal family, threatening the lives of the throne’s heirs, and a courtier’s wolfish hunger for the king’s favors sets a devious plot in motion.

Here in the palace at Skyggehavn, things are seldom as they seem — and when a single errant prick of a needle sets off a series of events that will alter the course of history, the fates of seamstress Ava Bingen and mute nursemaid Midi Sorte become irrevocably intertwined with that of mad Queen Isabel. As they navigate a tangled web of palace intrigue, power-lust, and deception, Ava and Midi must carve out their own survival any way they can.

It was the beautiful cover with attracted my attention, of course.  Plus it looks like it could fit into my comfort sort of reads, YA fantasy although at a closer look, it seems to be more YA historical fiction.  However, with strong female characters I may just love it.

Reading through some of the GR reviews, I note some reviewers’ assertion that this does not fit the YA classification and a particular review (here) made me think that maybe this is not for me.  Or at least, I need to be in a peculiar sort of mood to read this. Soooo… maybe not…

Chaos of Stars

The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy, is back with The Chaos of Stars—an enchanting novel set in Egypt and San Diego that captures the magic of first love and the eternally complicated truth about family.

Isadora’s family is seriously screwed up—which comes with the territory when you’re the human daughter of the ancient Egyptian gods Isis and Osiris. Isadora is tired of living with crazy relatives who think she’s only worthy of a passing glance—so when she gets the chance to move to California with her brother, she jumps on it. But her new life comes with plenty of its own dramatic—and dangerous—complications . . . and Isadora quickly learns there’s no such thing as a clean break from family.

Blending Ally Carter’s humor and the romance of Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly, The Chaos of Stars takes readers on an unforgettable journey halfway across the world and back, and proves there’s no place like home.

Woah, what a gorgeous cover!  And… another YA though this one leans towards the fantasy / romance genre.  I’ve heard of Kiersten White before though I’ve not yet picked up any of books yet.  This one though with the promise of Egypt / Egyptian mythology (I don’t care if it’s been done to death, it’s still a point of interest to me!) have totally made it to my TBR.

What do you think of my choices?  Have you heard about any of them or will you be adding any of them to your TBR?

4 thoughts on “Truth or Dare: Bookshop Visits

  1. kathrynsinbox

    Damn. That competition with the red book covers of the Intern really has me wondering now. I wonder what the odds are of one turning up at the Big W near my house, lol.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      LOL – don’t know about big W as the comp specifically said bookshops. I’ve been checking instagram regularly just to see if anyone’s found one! None so far so still good chances? I’m too lazy to go far though so I might periodically check the same bookshops again to see whether they were pacing it out rather than putting them all out at the same time 😉 but really, it’s just and excuse to window shopped!

      Reply
  2. samstillreading

    I am so glad it’s not just me looking for the red cover of The Intern! I have been looking in Target etc too just in case. No luck yet, but must think of places to cover this week!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: My Reading Week | Tien's Blurb

Would love to hear your thoughts...

