Take Control of Your TBR Pile -a Challenge

Take Control of Your TBR Pile 2014
 
LOL, I’m not very good at saying ‘no’ to challenges, am I!?  Thing is this one basically dedicates ONE WHOLE MONTH to non-review-to-be-read books which means I can concentrate on my other challenges books which aren’t review books and that can mean a lot of progress with my 2014 challenges.  Isn’t that a wonderful thought?
 
Thanks to Kimba @Caffeinated Book Reviewer for hosting this challenge.
 
Onto my plan (yes, I like to plan and I’d plan as early as I possibly can.  Plus, I think I might need to be organised for this as I might need to borrow books from libraries).
 
Week 1 (1-7 March): LOST challenge
 
2. The Gods of Amyrantha (Tide Lords #2) -the book on my LOST list
 
Author Jennifer Fallon is Australian so this will also fit in my AWW2014 challenge 😀
 
Week 2 (8-14 March): Moving Mountain challenge
 
1. Supernova: Ksatria, Puteri, dan Bintang Jatuh by Dee ~ this will be my one Bahasa Indonesia book for the month
2. Lexicon by Max Barry
 
Weeks 3-4 (15-31 March): ScatterShelves
 
1. Where Angels Fear to Tread by E.M. Forster ~my classic for the month
2. And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
3. Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer
4. Hidden (Avena #1) by Marianne Curley ~AWW2014
5. Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead ~in anticipating that I’d like to read this after I saw the movie in March
6. Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins ~a re-read as back-up
 
To make up for dedicating March to non-review books, I’ll have to dedicate February to Review books only! I’m not sure how much I’ll get read as we’ll be away for a week as well -looking forward to our beachy getaway though, that’s for sure 😉 
 
tide lords 1  tide lords 2  supernova  lexicon  mockinjayu  mountains  scarlet  angels  frostbite  hidden
11 thoughts on “Take Control of Your TBR Pile -a Challenge

  1. michelle A - Novels On The Run

    Tien!! You haven’t read VA yet!!!! I personally thought # 1 & # 2 were good, but # 3 onwards had me full to the brim of emotion. Have fun with this series. You have some great reads there. Love the idea of this challenge. I set myself a personal challenge to read in January more of my own happy time reading as I have been reading so much for everybody else. I am going 50/50 with it. Not as free of review reading as I would like, but getting there. I keep saying ‘yes’ to stuff…my bad 😀

    Look forward to what you think of VA 😀

    xx

    Mich

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I know I find it hard to say ‘no’ too!! Hence, why the focus this year is for my reading challenges which most times, I couldn’t fit in my review book ;p

      Err, don’t hate me but… I read VA #1 a couple of years ago and found that I didn’t like Rose. I found her to be a try-hard-rebel so I really didn’t feel like reading the rest of the books though some time has lapsed now and I might be okay to read at least #2, I think.

      I actually like Sydney from Bloodlines a lot better. This is probably because I can identify with her a lot better -yea… I’m one of those goody two shoes :p

      Reply
  2. Sema IV

    Have you only read the first Vampire Academy book? If so, you should definitely continue on with the series, by the third book it’s AMAZING! 😀

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Thanks, Sema! As I said to Mich (above comment), I will see how I go with #2 before I could consider the rest of the books! Hoping that I won’t find Rose as annoying this time around.

      Reply
      1. Sema IV

        Ah, I can totally understand that – I hate reading books with main characters I can’t relate to :-/. But judging by your comment to Mich, you’ve already read Bloodlines? That’s an interesting order :-D.

      2. Tien Post author

        Ah, yea… a couple of years ago, to launch The Golden Lily, Penguin had this hunt the book and it’s yours. They’ll post a photo of the book at a location on FB and I raced the few blocks from my office to where they were 😀 so I had to read it then, LOL.

      3. Tien Post author

        I think I knew that but I don’t think I’m missing a lot in Bloodlines by not reading VA so I’m happy 🙂

    1. Tien Post author

      LOL – yes, I have a whole bookshelf of TBR, a couple of piles in my room and another pile by my ‘reading nook’… umph, needs major clean up 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: My Reading Week | Tien's Blurb

Would love to hear your thoughts...

