Australian Women Writers Challenge (2014)

awwbadge_2014

yea yea yea… another one, even after I said I was only going to concentrate on a few?  Honestly, I kind of neglected this challenge in 2013 because even though I read / reviewed the required number of books, I kept forgetting to tag / report them! So, yes, I did complete it but just not formally.

On another note, I have plenty of books sitting prettily at home that will fit so well in this challenge that I’m just going to do my best to fit them in across a number of challenges 🙂  And this year, I promise to be good: to remember to tag & report my reviews!

There is one book that is on my January book list that will be a good book to kick this one off so I’m starting on a positive note 😀

yearningThe Yearning by Kate Belle

“I want to reveal myself to you… I need your eyes to see, your hands to touch, your spirit to acknowledge that which I hold most deeply and secretly in my heart. My yearning for you.”

It’s 1978 in a country town and a dreamy fifteen year old girl’s world is turned upside down by the arrival of the substitute English teacher. Solomon Andrews is beautiful, inspiring and she wants him like nothing else she’s wanted in her short life.

Charismatic and unconventional, Solomon easily wins the hearts and minds of his third form English class. He notices the attention of one girl, his new neighbour, who has taken to watching him from her upstairs window. He assumes it a harmless teenage crush, until erotic love notes begin to arrive in his letterbox.

Solomon knows he must resist, but her sensual words stir him. He has longings of his own, although they have nothing to do with love, or so he believes. One afternoon, as he stands reading her latest offering in his driveway, she turns up unannounced. Each must make a choice, the consequences of which will haunt them until they meet again twenty years later.

And if you wish to sign-up too, here’s the link: AWW 2014 – sign up

2 thoughts on “Australian Women Writers Challenge (2014)

    1. Tien Post author

      It is very interesting to me especially because I’m Australian so I love being able to support these local authors by reading & reviewing their books 🙂

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.