Review: Waterfell

waterfellWaterfell by Amalie Howard
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Source: eARC courtesy of Harlequin Teen via NetGalley

They live underwater, in the deepest part of the sea that is closest to the centre of the earth. They are referred to as ‘monsters’. Beautiful monsters but monsters nonetheless. They are Aquarathi. They have a very old history and have a deep interest in the wellbeing of earth and especially that of the sea. That is the reason why they will interfere in human business to ensure the survival of their race. There are differing thoughts on how much they should participate in the human world, however, and this led to turmoil within the kingdom.

What interest me most is the story behind the existence of the Aquarathi followed by their culture. Whilst the story itself was pretty basic, it provided enough background for this book. There wasn’t too much of the culture though I’m hoping there will be a lot more in the next instalment. Without spoiling it too much, I just think it was quite different from what’s out there and I wish that side of things were developed a little more.

A little unfortunate that I found Nerissa to be really annoying. Although she has pretty good reasons to be how she is, it doesn’t make it easy for me to swallow. She seems to be utterly self-centred but really, it was to hide a painful past which she refuses to face. Thankfully, she grew to be tolerable until right at the very end when again she became rather annoying but again with a somewhat acceptable reason… I just didn’t want to accept it.

It was the romance and the humour which drew me through the story. Interactions between Nerissa and Lo was just adorably cute!

“What are you doing here?”
“You’re here. So I’m here, too.” His words could incinerate ice, far less a girl with a definite non-icy heart. I’m hanging on by a thread not to be a puddle on the floor.
“Oh.” It’s the only word I can translate from my brain to my mouth. Everything else is gibberish. “But you don’t work today.”
“No, but you do.” And… puddle.

Thank you, Harlequin Teen for eARC via NetGalley

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Waterfell

  1. Pingback: Review: The Almost Girl | Tien's Blurb

Would love to hear your thoughts...

