Review: Freak of Nature

freakFreak of Nature by Julia Crane

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Source: eARC courtesy of Indie Inked via NetGalley

This must be one of the best covers ever and it sets a pretty high expectation for the book. Who can resist a book about a beautiful half-robot girl with a hint of romance in the air? It brings to mind Cinder (by Marissa Meyer) which I loved so I really couldn’t resist peeking in.

Freak of Nature is exactly as the blurb described it and sadly, not much more. There were a lot of confusion in the air but not a lot of exploration. I feel any themes touched were barely scratched upon and any resolutions to conflicts were just way too easy. There wasn’t any prolonged suspense and things just fell into place in the next page. This makes it to be easily comfortable read but unfortunately, it doesn’t make an exciting read.

This was a fast read for me as language was pretty easy and plot pretty straight forward. There was one thing that I liked though it seemed to be pretty insignificant in my overall view of the book. It’s not something I could reveal though since it is spoiler-ish. There were great premise in the setting and characters but it wasn’t fully realised. I don’t think I will be picking up the next book.

Thank you, Indie Inked for copy of eARC via NetGalley

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

