The Classics Spin #4

Riiiiggght! I think I’ve neglected my Classics project far too long this year so I’m jumping in with this spin though I’m not sure if I’d be able to read it before end of year as we’re supposed to do because…  I’ve committed to read Game of Thrones this year and guess what, it’s nearly December and I still I haven’t started yet, *GASP* so that’s what I’d be doing starting 1 Dec.  Hoping I can fit in my classic book somewhere 🙂

Here’s my list which I’ve just sort of pick in some random way… I filtered out the really thick ones as I don’t think I can handle it after GoT:

  1. Café Scheherazade by Arnold Zable
  2. Picnic at Hanging Rock by Joan Lindsay
  3. Robbery Under Arms by Rolf Bolderwood
  4. The Complete Adventures of Snugglepot and Cuddlepie by May Gibbs
  5. The Shiralee by D’Arcy Niland
  6. The Boat by Nam Le
  7. 1788 by Watkin Tench
  8. An Iron Rose by Peter Temple
  9. The Dig Tree by Sarah Murgatroyd
  10. I Can Jump Puddles by Alan Marshall
  11. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  12. Ruth by Elizabeth Gaskell
  13. The Lady of the Lake by Walter Scott
  14. The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper
  15. The Moonstone   by Wilkie Collins
  16. The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe
  17. A Passage to India by E. M. Forster
  18. Boy: Tales of Childhood by Roald Dahl
  19. Meditations by Marcus Aurelius
  20. On the Road by Jack Kerouac

Feel free to join in, here.  The Classics Club will announce the number on Monday (tomorrow).

4 thoughts on “The Classics Spin #4

  1. Candiss

    Oh, Charlotte’s Web… This was one of my absolute favorites as a child. I must have read it 20 times, at least, and it never failed to make me bawl like a moose with a sinus infection. If I think about it too much now I’ll probably start tearing up…but it’s such a good story!

    Good luck with your spin pick!

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Aww, thanks, Candiss! Will be good to get Charlotte’s Web 🙂 I might read it aloud to my son, I think that would be fun though he may not understand most of it yet (he’s 4).

      I didn’t get to much English books when I was a child as whilst my father is a reader, he reads Chinese lit and mum’s not really a reader (she reads her bible and Christian books only) so I’m trying to make up for lost time with my son ;D

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

