My reading (or rather bookish) week

I am amazed that I still managed to fit in my bookish events with how crazy life has been with moving, arranging rental, and just overall “life”!!  But then again, how could you not FIT in bookish events!  I don’t know about you but it’s how I keep my sanity 😉

The week before, I happily went shopping for my “Divergent” outfit for the Allegiant launch in Sydney this past week.  I had to be able to wear it to work (at a corporate office environment) then onto the launch.  Embarrassingly, my (male) manager noticed the matching bag & skirt! I don’t know whether that means I don’t usually match or the outfit was a total stand-out.  I still didn’t win best-dressed but I had a fun time hanging out with Divergent fans 😀

allegiant  dressup

Do you know your Divergent?  Which faction did I dress as?

We also had our bookclub meet this weekend and as we toured around Asia this year, we visited Indonesia via The Rainbow Troops by Andrea Hirata.  It was a busy weekend of cooking and eating Indonesia cuisine whilst somewhat discussing abovementioned book.  For the last 2 months, as each members took turn reading, I received feedback of how good it was but then it surprised me that the general consensus with the rating was only about 3/5 stars (disallowing the half-star).  Everyone found the book to be “inspiring” (it appears to be the Word of the Day) though there was a discussion as to whether the book was about the teachers or the children.  Everyone wonders though whether the rest of the books (a quartet) will be translated into English so I think an interest to progress in the series is a good indication of the book’s rating.

DSCN1222  DSCN1230

Menu of the day:

Gado-gado (salad served with peanut sauce)

Sate (pork satays served with a salsa type of sauce)

Semur sapi (some sort of beef stew)

Tempe Kecap (tempeh is fermented soy beans, cooked with beans and lots of sweet soy sauce)

Biji Salak (a dessert made from sweet potatos –kumara with tapioca flour served with palm sugar and coconut cream)

Putu Ayu (pandan flavoured with lots of coconut topping)

This week, I’d be attempting to finish reading the following books:

antigoddess  clockwork heart  waterfell

I’m still trying to ‘recover’ from my Netgalley splurge a couple of months ago! 2 of these are due to expire this week, eep!

I really would not have a clue when my blog’s anniversary is however thanks to WordPress who informed me 6 days ago that it’s been 3 years since I first started blogging (wow, who would’ve thunk!?).  So, in celebration… *drum rolls*

GIVEAWAY – 3 random book parcels (AU mailing addresses only)

random parcel

Note: totally random books so neither you nor I will know exactly which one you’d be getting –I know which books they are but since they’re wrapped, I wouldn’t have a clue which I’m sending to whom!

Go to my Facebook page for the Rafflecopter entries (unfortunately, WP does not host this widget)

T & C:

  1. You are over 13 yo
  2. You have Australian mailing address
  3. If you are drawn as winner, you have 48 hours to respond to my notification email
  4. Giveaway ends midnight of 11th November 2013
5 thoughts on “My reading (or rather bookish) week

  1. Judith

    Sounds like you were very busy, but in a good way! Gado gado is one of my favorite meals. I love the freshness of the vegetables with the peanut sauce. Hmm…

    I also read The Rainbow Troops, and while I thought it was interesting, it wasn’t all-over good. I thought I got presented a lot of information that I didn’t necessarily all wanted to know.

    I haven’t read Divergent, so no idea what you’re talking about. The electric blue is nice, though!

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      The peanut sauce is the best! Then, of course, I love the tofu & egg in the gado2 too.

      I was mainly surprised that everyone was telling me that they loved it then rated it around 3 stars…. I guess, for me, 3 stars is an okay read and not one I would say I loved.

      & thanks – i was feeling a little conspicuous in electric blue so i’m not quite sure I’d be wearing it again, lol (I’m usually pretty conservative in dress)

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Netgalley November | A World of Books

  3. Pingback: Bookish Survey: Cast a HP Spell | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Would love to hear your thoughts...

