Review: Kinslayer

kinslayerKinslayer by Jay Kristoff
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

IZANAGI’S BALLS!

This is, hands down, one of the best books I’ve ever read! For about a week after, I adopted Shima-speak in my head which almost burst out a few times. Just imagine how I’d try to explain that to my friends!

I loved Stormdancer so Kinslayer (though I wasn’t quite enamored with the title, sorry, Jay!) was a highly anticipated release. It was so much better than I ever expected it to be. There was so much happening that I didn’t know which way to turn. There wasn’t any break, Bam Bam Bam, the pace was absolutely off the chart. Unlike Stormdancer, there were quite an additional number of perspectives in Kinslayer and I believe, this in part, contributed to the killing pace. The story moves from character to character at each snap of my fingers.

At first, Yukiko annoys me here although she has very good reason to feel what she felt; I just have problems with angry characters. I’m glad though that she didn’t stay that way throughout the book; that she was forced to adapt to situations and chose to fight to live. That’s the bad-ass Yukiko I remember!

The first time I read Stormdancer, I wasn’t particularly keen on Kin. The second time, I started to like him… but as I read Kinslayer, I swayed from one to the other until I just really don’t know anymore!!! And the fact that I’m loving this uncertainty is totally astonishing! I lay the fault at Jay Kristoff’s evil genius!

Of the minor characters, I am thoroughly in awe of Michi. She’s a machine! I mean that in the most admirable way. She’s one tough cookie and ain’t nobody gonna get in her way. I hope to see her a lot more in the next installment (please, Jay, please?!)

This part was a truly hair-rising moment for me;

“You are death,” she whispered. “Cold as winter dawn. Merciless as Lady Sun. Play the role. Play it so well you could fool yourself. But never forget who you are. What you are.”
She pointed at the glass, and her whisper was sharp as knives.
“You are Kagé Michi.”

I am all amazement in the plot development. There was so many twists and turns that I was caught by surprise a lot of the time and there may or may not be out loud gasps on the train (yup, that was me *waves*). I can’t say this enough, I can’t wait for Book 3!

My apologies for the late review – moving house & job took a lot out of me and I’m still trying to get a new routine going!

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

