Review: Sisters Red

Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Source: My local library -get your own copy from The Book Depository

I am notorious when it comes to picking up books to fit a challenge and not paying too much attention (if any at all) to the blurb. I enjoyed the prologue and the first chapter then after a few more chapters, I started questioning my choice… And then (and only then!) did I flip to the back to read the blurb! Oh dear… 2 girls 1 boy – a recipe for disaster (I absolutely abhor love triangles! Especially when I just know that one will be hurt terribly / left behind).

The book is told in alternate perspectives between Scarlett and Rosie March. Scarlett faced down an attack to protect her sister and since then, all she lives for is The Hunt. She has seen the light now and will do her duty to protect all innocents. Rosie is also trained as a hunter but she hasn’t Scarlett’s passion for the hunt. However, she loves her sister and owes Scarlett her life, she belongs with her sister. When Silas Reynolds returned after a year’s absence, there were numerous attacks, unexplained presence of strangers, and things between the three of them just weren’t the same anymore…

I was debating whether I should read something else concurrently so I don’t get to upset with this book or rush through it to get it over and done with. I was still debating this point when I kept reading and couldn’t put it down because I really really like Scarlett and kept wanting to get to her POVs. Scarlett is strong. She is a warrior. She is passionate. And for her, I may just read the next book in this series!

I am also happy to say that there wasn’t really a love triangle though near the end, the lovey-dovey-ness was starting to make me sick. I am a romantic but I have my limits or maybe I’m just channelling Scarlett here…

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Sisters Red

  1. novareylin

    This sounds pretty good but I have to admit, I may have picked it up just because of that cover. I also admit, I pick up books and get them without sometimes reading the synopsis. Sometimes it totally works out though!! 😀

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      He he, I am judgemental on covers as well even when sometimes the blurb isn’t appealing and sometimes, they do surprise you! You just never know, do you?!

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

