Review: Scent of Magic

Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Source: Harlequin Teen Australia and The Reading Room

Arrgh!! Seriously, does it have to end like that?!?!? Waiting for the next book will absolutely kill me! I should have waited for the next book so I could read one after the other 😦

I read this book in one sitting as I just couldn’t bear to put it down. It’s a good follow up to the first book where things just keep happening one on top of the other and the excitement just keeps on going. For those looking for a lot more romance in this book though, I’m afraid you’d be disappointed as you’d read in the blurb Kerrick and Avry are separated. However, that doesn’t mean that we miss out on what one or the other does.

The story is told from 2 alternate perspectives: Avry and Kerrick. I love alternating perspectives as it will give me views from both sides and also means that I’m really not missing out on any of the actions. Sometimes though, I found that it’s slightly in the way. Maybe the way it was broken off, at times, perhaps with the intention to heighten the tension but rather it just became annoying that I was tempted to skip sections to find out what happens next and come back later. I resisted, of course, in case it spoils the story.

Overall, I am loving this trilogy. I’ve read all of Snyder’s works to date and none have disappointed me. She’s definitely one of my favourite authors and I am really truly looking forward to the next instalment of this trilogy!

Thank you Harlequin Teen Australia and The Reading Room for providing me with a copy for review

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Scent of Magic

Would love to hear your thoughts...

