Review: Sailor Twain

Sailor Twain
Sailor Twain by Mark Siegel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Source: eARC courtesy of First Second (via NetGalley) – get your own copy from The Book Depository

I think I can count on one hand the numbers of graphic novels I’ve read: Watchmen, The Lightning Thief, Twilight, The Arrival, and now… Sailor Twain. This does not, however, indicate that I don’t like them only that I don’t go out of my way to find ones I’d like to read. Usually, I’m required to read one for a challenge but this time, I’ve picked it up just because I want to…

As I am reading an eARC downloaded via NetGalley onto my Kobo Touch, it was an interesting experience. My first graphic novel on my precious Kobo – unfortunately, as it’s only a Touch, the graphics look quite different and as the screen is quite small, I managed to read nearly halfway before I decided to finish it up on the PC. And what a difference it made! The atmosphere drawn translated a lot better when you see the graphics in colour – even though, it is black & white charcoal, there is quite a difference looking at it on your e-ink device!

The story itself is quite hypnotic. Just like Sailor Twain found himself caught in fascination with the mysterious mythical creature of the sea, I was completely drawn into this story. He was unable to let go and so was I – until all was revealed (for me anyway). A dark and gripping story – a perfect one for reading in the comfort of your armchair with a blanket over your legs, a steaming hot mug of coffee in your hands, on a grey and drizzly day.

Note: due to the darkness of the story, some nudity, and some sexual implication, I do not recommend this for under 18 (I may be slightly conservative in my views).

Thanks to First Second & NetGalley for the opportunity to read & review

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts...

