Blog Tour: Crash -An Author Interview

I completely adore ballet so when I saw sign-ups for this blog tour, I just HAD to participate!  Unfortunately, I’ve not time to actually read the book yet but I will definitely read it.  The blurb kind of reminded me a little of Centre Stage [I might be showing my age here a bit, but who remembers that movie?  It’s just the sweetest movie *aww* Pssst… I’ve got the VHS!].  Let’s give the warmest welcome to author Nicole Williams – Thanks for stopping by!

Quick Qs to warm up with:

Tea or Coffee? Coffee.

Okay, yea… there’s really no question about it, okay?!  Coffee is the way to GO!

White or Dark Chocolate? Dark.

Uum… a woman after my own heart…

Cats or Dogs? Dogs, but I feel obligated to say both since I have a cat.

I really do think…

Sun or Snow? Sun.

Yep, okay, it’s Official!  You are sooo my bosom friend!

Bad Boy or Boy-Next-Door? In real life: boy next door. In fiction: bad boy.

Why did you choose ‘ballet’ for Lucy?

I think it’s important for young people to have activities that they love and want to pursue. I did ballet for a couple of years when I was about four or five, but sadly had to give it up when lessons started getting in the way of my Saturday morning cartoons. Oh, the plights of a grade schooler. However, I always wondered what would have happened if I would have kept with it because, to this day, I still love to dance. I just make sure no one’s around to watch me!

I just had to laugh because I also did ballet but sadly gave it up too as it got in the way of 21st Jump Street -LOL -c’mon, it’s Johnny Depp!!  He was my biggest crush!  How could you not want to watch this face? :O

Do you have a particular ballet performance you love (eg. Swan Lake, etc)? and why?

I love The Nutcracker! I’ve seen it close to ten times and it still feels as magical now as it did when I was a wide eyed eight-year-old. The music, the dancing, the story—it takes me into a different world.

Was there any instance/s in Crash that actually happened to you or someone you know?  Which one/s (if not a spoiler)?

Not one scene in particular, but I wanted to capture that essence of love that is consuming and be-all-end-all that seems to especially affix to young adults. That feeling that you can’t breathe when you’re both around and not around the one you love, as well as the extreme highs and lows. The roller coaster ride that is what we know as love.

“…Jude Ryder, a guy whose name has become its own verb, and synonymous with trouble.”  What is the synonym of ‘Nicole Williams’?

Confidently uncertain.

How do you decide when to write a series or a stand-alone novel?  How did Crash become a series?

I write what I like to read. For me, I enjoy a series book because once I get invested in the characters, I want to follow them on a long journey. With Crash, my original intention was to make it a stand alone, but then I realised characters as large as Jude and Lucy deserved more than just one chapter in their story. Their high school lives were done and they were onto college. For me, so much of the person I am today was discovered and refined in college, so I didn’t want to leave that piece of the Jude/Lucy puzzle missing.

Would you usually bounce ideas of a book off your husband?  Or anyone else in particular?

I don’t actually. I keep my ideas almost always to myself, bouncing them around in my own head. Most of the time, I’m too terrified my ideas will sound like an epic fail if I try to explain them to someone else!

What is your writing process like?  I understand it’s quite different for each books but in general, do you write the opening lines first / last?  Do you usually know the ending earlier on & therefore, planned, or do you just go with the flow?  Have you drawn diagrams / flow charts to make sure that you’ve got the ‘facts’ straight?

I start out with a basic outline, listing rudimentary scenes. I know where I want my characters to end up, and what kind of growth I want them to go through. From there, I sit down and write. Before tearing into a new scene, I will outline it in greater detail, highlighting specific dialogue, the object of the scene, that sort of thing. I don’t necessarily keep my characters on a tight leash, but I prefer to keep them in a caged yard.

You can find Nicole at her blog, Goodreads, Facebook, & Twitter

About the book

Southpointe High is the last place Lucy wanted to wind up her senior year of school. Right up until she stumbles into Jude Ryder, a guy whose name has become its own verb, and synonymous with trouble. He’s got a rap sheet that runs longer than a senior thesis, has had his name sighed, shouted, and cursed by more women than Lucy dares to ask, and lives at the local boys home where disturbed seems to be the status quo for the residents. Lucy had a stable at best, quirky at worst, upbringing. She lives for wearing the satin down on her ballet shoes, has her sights set on Juilliard, and has been careful to keep trouble out of her life. Up until now.

Jude’s everything she needs to stay away from if she wants to separate her past from her future. Staying away, she’s about to find out, is the only thing she’s incapable of.

For Lucy Larson and Jude Ryder, love’s about to become the thing that tears them apart.

Available at Amazon (kindle), Amazon (paperback), B&N (Nook), & Kobo (ePub)

Thank you, Nicole, for your time.  All the best for your future endeavours!  Thanks, Momo @Books over Boys, for organising the tour & having me along 🙂

Don’t forget to check the rest of the tour stops!

Would love to hear your thoughts...

