Blog Tour: The Sun, The Moon, and Maybe The Trains -Interview + Giveaway

Welcome to the second stop on this tour.  I thought the title really intriguing and when I found out it’s about time travel and plus he went forward in time, well… I’m a goner, really!  For this stop, we’re going to get to know the author, Rodney Jones, a little and then you’d find some details on the book & giveaway.

While a past resident of Michigan, Ohio, Illinois, Florida, New York, and Vermont, Rodney Jones now resides in Richmond, Indiana, where he whiles away his days pecking at a laptop, riding his ten-speed up the Cardinal Greenway, taking long walks with his daughter, or backpacking and wilderness camping.

His list of past occupations reads like his list of past residences, though his life-long ambition was to be an artist until he discovered a latent affinity for writing.

“In art,” Rodney says, “I was constantly being asked to explain images constructed from a palette of emotions and ideas, which usually required complex narratives to convey their meaning, if there even was a meaning. In writing, the words are creating the images, images are telling a story, the story is evoking feelings. I like it. There’s nothing to explain.”

Rodney’s interests include: art, science, politics, whiskey and chocolate, music (collecting vinyl records), gardening, and travel.

My Top 5 (time travel) destinations

1962, The Cavern Club, in Liverpool, England. To hang out with The Beatles—before they were famous, before anyone in the US had even heard of them.

1963, Selma Elementary, Selma, Indiana. To be witness to my fawn-eyed self, fumbling in the presence of the first girl I ever loved.

1450 BC, Memphis, Egypt. Sightseeing that strange and amazing world during its zenith.

1776, Vienna, Italy. I’d attend as many of Mozart’s public performances as possible. I hope I can take bottled water with me, though.

1619, Plymouth, Massachusetts. I’d do my utmost to educate the local natives regarding the hearts and minds of the pilgrims who would soon be arriving. Don’t be suckered by their presumptive powers and hypocritical gestures.  Call the shysters out for any and every suspicious word.

Oooh, Ancient Egpyt!  That’d be my Top most destination!

When inspiration hits at the busiest point of the day, I…

Inspiration nearly always strikes me during the least busy moment of the day, that moment just as I am about to drift off to sleep. How annoying. I lie there in my bed thinking, ‘This could be the greatest idea I’ve ever come up with.’ If I don’t get up, power up my laptop, and write it down, I’ll very likely forget it. I know I’ve lost a great idea or two by not taking immediate action. Whereas, when inspiration hits during a busy point in the day I have no problem retaining it until I get a chance to put it down.

10 of my favorite words and their usefulness:

Profound: There may be bigger words, but off the top of my head I can’t think of any that are as expansive or reach the depth that  ‘profound’ does.  ‘… his profound love for her … her profound hatred of him …’ like a climactic extreme. It’s a strong word, which should be used most sparingly, once per novel.

Suffer: I like ‘suffer’ when used to express a variety of emotions. I suffered
a dreadful longing for Knob Creek. Suffering the love of a woman I could never touch, etc..

Liquid: My favorite noun. What a beautiful word. Lick-quid. I simply like the sound of the word. I like saying the word out loud. I can write ‘a liquid moon,’ for example, and the reader imagines seeing a full moon reflected wet and squiggly off the quiet surface of a pond.

Incandescent: Here again is a seldom used, though lovely adjective. Like ‘liquid,’ I find the sound of the word pleasing. Embers becoming incandescent in the wind. The tip of her cigarette glowed incandescent with the suck of her puffy red lips. Ha!

Epiphany: Is there anyone who does not recognize the beauty of this word and its meaning. Please do not spoil it with overuse. If one of my characters has an epiphany, it is usually a profound moment for them.

Sorrow: “The sweet smell of a great sorrow lies over the land…Pink Floyd. Like ‘profound,’ this word can evoke a feeling of great depth, and if used correctly, empathy.

Placid: The hound dog lying placid in the sun offers this quote from Office Space: “It’s not that I’m lazy; it’s just that I don’t care.”

Whatsoever: I mean, how does this happen? Three words are used so frequently that they become one? That’s pretty cool, I think.

Yearning: I’m a romantic.

Schmuck: My all-time favorite word rhymes with schmuck, but I wasn’t sure it would be appropriate to explore here. Schmuck, though, is one of those words whose meaning is clearly evident in its usage.  No need to look it up. I however have yet to find a place for it in any of my stories, but I’m far from done.

Bufadu: A extremely rare word. So rare, you won’t find it in any dictionary. It’s the name of the planet on which my story Entwined takes place. It literally means beautiful, and originated in the mind of a dear friend’s young niece. You are so bufadu … toooo meeee.

Oblivious: An often overlooked state of mind. I like the qualities the word can imply as much as its literal meaning. Plus I love the sound of the word.

Udderly: A little known adjective, which means: Anything that might dangle in a loose or limp fashion, and may perhaps sway and jiggle when in motion. ‘His speech was udderly amazing!’

Hootenanny:  Just look at this word. Say it out loud, for crying out loud. It’s bloody fun! It’s a happy word.

Did I miscount?

Aaaah… Err, maybe just a bit…?

What would it take to convince you that the woods you just left is a hundred and forty-four years distant from the one you entered?

Ten years have passed since the Civil War broke up John Bartley’s family. Living with his aunt and uncle in the tiny village of Greendale, Vermont, isn’t filled with excitement for a seventeen year-old.

Until John walks into the woods one day and stumbles into 2009…

Fortunately, he chances upon the outspoken Tess McKinnon. To earn her trust, he must first convince her that he is neither a lunatic nor a liar. The proof he needs is buried at the end of a mountain road, where the ruins of Greendale lie just beneath a layer of dead leaves and moss.

What became of his home? Why is there no record of its existence?

Available at Amazon (kindle), Smashwords, Amazon (paperbook), Barnes & Noble (nook), Kobo

Tour Schedule & GIVEAWAY

Do check out the rest of the stops and enter the giveaway at Red Adept Publishing.  There are a stack of prizes including 3 Amazon GC for $10, $20, & $30 and some swags (swags are limited to US residents only).

Would love to hear your thoughts...

