Review: Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Source: NetGalley – Get your own copy from The Book Depository

I fell head over heels with the cover, of course. Look at it, how could you not? It’s absolutely bad ass! The blurb, by itself, has potential and is quite appealing. And all the glowing reviews out there, well, my expectations were jacked up out of proportion.

Celaena was way too perfect for me – she’s really good at what she does (and I mean, really really good), she’s drop dead gorgeous, there’s a mixture of the kick-ass heroine and yet there also exists the giggly swoony girly girl in her. Maybe I’m just having a case of the green-eyed monster but I just couldn’t like her, much.

I may have mentioned the other month that I’m totally over YA love triangle? I think that was one of the reasons why I didn’t really enjoy this book as it was pretty blatantly obvious which triangle exists and that someone is bound to be hurt. At the end, thought, it wasn’t really that obvious ‘how much’ hurt was experienced but… I’m hurt 😦 – I liked this character the best in this book!

The problem lies with my expectations plus over publicity… I made the mistake to ‘like’ the Throne of Glass FB page before reading the book and everyday there is some feeds from the page and I was over the book before I began – it was my fault, I should’ve waited but the cover looks so good!! I’m the one who’s really sorry that I didn’t enjoy as much as others – makes me out to be an outcast too! ;p

Thank you Netgalley & Bloomsbury for the opportunity provided

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Throne of Glass

  1. Stephanie @ Read in a Single Sitting

    I know exactly what you mean about “hype”. If anything, it puts me off reading something because I’m afraid that my perception of a book will be influenced by the marketing push.

    I do have this one on my shelf, but I’ve put off reading it for a bit partly because of this.

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

