Syrenka Series Tour: Arise -a Review + Giveaway

I’m very excited to welcome you today to my stop for a review of Arise (book 3).  If you have not read book 1 (Promises) or 2 (Betrayal), then you may not want to read this review – check out my review for Promises or review of Betrayal instead.  Please click on the image above to be taken to the tour’s page with tour schedules.

Arise (The Syrenka Series #3) by Amber Garr

Book Blurb

With power comes the responsibility to accept its consequences.

After the betrayal of those closest to her, Eviana Dumahl struggles to cope with her new reality.  Kidnapped, broken, and confused, she is forced to engage in a war that will alter merfolk politics forever.  With her estranged father leading the charge, Eviana has no choice but to stand by his side.  Her continued existence hinges on the acceptance of the power growing inside her, even when that means embracing the family’s dark lineage.

Kain Matthew will sacrifice the world for Eviana.  And he is not alone.  As time runs out, her friends fight to save her life and theirs.  An unlikely alliance gives them the edge they need to take a stand, although it keeps Eviana’s heart trapped in the past.  A new discovery explains some of her previous mistakes, but it may not be enough to stop her father’s plans.  Merfolk, selkies, and water sprites work together to save their kind, only in this final battle, not everyone will survive.

In the striking series conclusion, Eviana will learn the true meaning of power, sacrifice, and love.

My Blurb (4 of 5 stars)

I swear by everything that’s holy that I wrote my review for Betrayal (book 2) before I even touched Arise!  The fact that my wish came true was a miracle!!  Well, not quite, it’s really the work of Amber Garr in totally pre-empting her reader’s wish (me, in this case) of which I am completely grateful for.  When I first saw that chapter in Kain’s POV, my ‘Yes’ reverberated through the house and my fist was pumping the air, I was so freaking excited for it.  I really couldn’t believe my luck!  Here I am, going to be in Kain’s head!

Exciting as it was to see things in Kain’s head – how he truly cares for Eviana, what he’s willing to do for her, etc… In the end, I found that the voice didn’t really change much.  I feel like there’s something missing -it wasn’t masculine enough for me.  I think I’ve been spoiled by all those overprotective alpha male characters.  That’s not to say that Kain isn’t protective of Eviana – he is but he’s just not primitive about it.  He is gentle and has confidence in Eviana which is refreshing to see that he trusted her to make her own decision.

In the midst of my read, I wasn’t sure if this is the last book as it just didn’t feel like it’s going to end and I wasn’t sure either if I wanted this to be the last book or not.  The reason being, of course, is that it’s sooo good that I don’t want it to end but I don’t think I can stand the pressure of having to wait for the next book.  The tension and action continued to escalate in Arise – right up to the end.  I was cheering, I was cursing, I shed some tears and then I shed some more tears in joy.

This was my first merfolk series ever and whilst I wasn’t too keen on book 1, I am so happy to have read books 2 & 3 – to me, this is a series where all my wishes came true.  It’s been a great ride and am looking forward to my next merfolk tales (they have a lot to live up to!).

Amazon

Smashwords

Barnes and Noble

About Author

Amber Garr spends her days conducting scientific experiments and wondering if her next door neighbor is secretly a vampire. Born in Pennsylvania, she lives in Florida with her husband and their furry kids. Her childhood imaginary friend was a witch, Halloween is sacred, and she is certain that she has a supernatural sense of smell. She writes both adult and young adult urban fantasies and when not obsessing over the unknown, she can be found dancing, reading, or enjoying a good movie.

Website
Blog
Facebook
Goodreads

Giveaways

Tour-wide Giveaway includes Signed copies of all 3 books with a surprise Swag, Enter Rafflecopter.

In addition, for visiting my blog, there is also a giveaway of 1 ecopy of this series (your choice as to which book you’d like).  However, as I can’t host Rafflecopter on WordPress, please Enter Rafflecopter on my FB page.

Banner-3-1

4 thoughts on “Syrenka Series Tour: Arise -a Review + Giveaway

  1. Amber Garr

    Thank you so much Tien for reading and reviewing the entire series. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed them and I’m honored that this was your first mermaid series! 🙂 Thanks again for being a part of my tour!!!
    amber

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Amber, it’s a privilege of having been able to join the tour! And thank you for such enjoyable reads 😉

      I look forward to more of your writings!

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

