Review: Undaunted: Daring to Do What God Calls You to Do

Undaunted: Daring to Do What God Calls You to Do
Undaunted: Daring to Do What God Calls You to Do by Christine Caine
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Christine Caine offers life-transforming insights about how not only to overcome the challenges, wrong turns, and often painful circumstances we all experience, but also to actually grow from those experiences and be equipped and empowered to help others. Using her own dramatic life story, Caine shows how God rescued her from a life where she was unnamed, unwanted, and unqualified. She tells how she overcame abuse, abandonment, fears, and other challenges to go on a mission of adventure, fueled by faith and filled with love and courage. Her personal stories inspire readers to hear their name called, just as Christine heard her own—‘You are beloved. You are the hope. You are chosen’—to go into a dark and troubled world, knowing each of us possess all it takes to bring hope, create change, and live completely for Christ. Part inspirational tale, part manifesto to stir readers to lives of adventure, Undaunted shows the way with spiritual wisdom and insight.

…those who follow Christ have the light.  We know his love.  We have hope.  We can bring the news of his grace, of change.

Do you love me?Jesus asks.

Undaunted, we can answer yes – and prepare to serve him without fear.

I love the cover of gorgeous mountainous view with one little person climbing – daunting just? What interest me, of course, was that in the beginning of the year, I was um-ah-ing about leading a youth bible study group. After being challenged (by another book), I decided that yes, I love God and I want to give him (& others) my time & service, so I took the plunge. I am happy with this decision as I feel that this is right, it’s what God had called me to do, at this point in time, but I still remember those months of continuously trying to pull back. I still feel slightly intimated with leading a study (even though I do have a co-leader but I think this is what is more intimidating).

He does not ask us to cross the street because we actually have the capacity in and of ourselves to rescue hurting people.  He asks because he does.

He does not ask, Are you capable?  He asks, Are you willing?

Undaunted really did speak to me. I was very happy chewing on the empowering points Christine Caine put forward in encouraging her readers to take that step forward. The book was divided into 4 parts to tackle those majority points which stopped us from answering God’s call to serve and concluded with a Challenge. Christine uses a lot of her personal experience as examples and I truly admire as a godly woman. I want to think like her! That will take a lot of discipline but I am inspired.

Throughout this book, I have tried to make the point, in as many ways as I can and as clearly as I can, that God has set before each of us an exciting and world-changing mission.  And that he wants to work in us, to equip and empower and qualify us, so that he can work through us.  For some of us, either the mission he calls us to or the prospect of turning our lives over to him so that he can prepare us is daunting.  But to live truly undaunted, to ask others to have faith, you must summon your own faith in God.  You follow a God who is moved by your prayers, and your tears, just as you would be moved by the words and tears of your own child.  And when God is moved, you look up and over whatever giant is standing in your way, because God will move him.

After all, God can move mountains.  Why would he hesitate to remove a mere giant?

The only issue I had with this book was that Christine Caine appears to be alluding (a number of times) of a particular personal issue which she had to overcome. Whilst she shared quite a bit about herself and some personal issues, one particular one wasn’t mentioned. I don’t know whether I’m just reading too much between the lines but it bothers me – if you are going to allude to it in your writing, then you’d have to be prepared to share about it. If not, then don’t even hint about it.

Thank you to Zondervan & NetGalley for the opportunity to view and review.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Undaunted: Daring to Do What God Calls You to Do

  1. Pingback: Review: Spirit Hunger: Filling Our Deep Longing to Connect with God | Tien's Blurb

Would love to hear your thoughts...

