Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon

2 days into #SWUR and I’ve just managed to do my first post.  Not that it means I was reading that much, oh no… as always the case, the weekend usually proves to be too busy for a read.  Although I did get to read some…  Here’s my list for this readathon:

*Monster in My Closet (Monster Haven #1) by R.L. Naquin – Read Aug 4 (only to finish up the last 50 pages or so)

*Destiny’s Fire (Kythan Guardians #1) by Trisha Wolfe – Progress: 61%

*The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – I started this last week so I was on page 117 and today, I read about 90 pages.  I’m not expecting to finish this monster this week but am reading it slowly but surely 🙂

*Howards End by E.M. Forster

*The Immortality Virus by Christine Amsden

*Promised (The Syrenka Series #1) by Amber Garr

*Chosen (The Chosen #1) by Denise Grover Swank – I don’t think I’ll get this far but… am just hoping…

9 thoughts on “Summer Wrap-Up Read-a-Thon

  1. Ellie Potten (@Bookshop_Girl)

    *Commiserates with crazy weekend non-reading* I had a terrible first day on Saturday – zero pages, oops – after a hellishly busy day at the bookshop ripped away my will to do anything except eat hash browns and watch DVDs… I’m dying to read THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH, so here’s a question for you… do you reckon it’s readable enough to take on a poolside holiday, or is that maybe a bit overambitious? Good luck anyway, and drop by and say hi if you need a reading break at some point! 🙂

    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl
    http://musingsofabookshopgirl.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/summer-wrap-up-read-thon.html

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Do you work at a bookshop??! *Jealousy galore!*

      I don’t think The Pillars of the Earth will work on the poolside holiday. I know I get distracted a lot at the beach so you’d definitely want something lighter to read 😉

      Reply
  2. novareylin

    What great picks! I’m curious about Chosen. I read Twenty Eight and a half Wishes and Twenty Nine and a half Reasons and absolutely fell in love with her writing style. It’s just so much fun! Hope you enjoy this week!

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      I’m reading it for a blog tour – it sounded interesting!

      Although, following on from our previous discussion about how addictive blog tour is – I need someone to slap my hands if I sign up for any more!

      Reply
      1. novareylin

        I KNOW! My entire August, September and October are booked!

        Thank goodness for Read a thons! An excuse to not work and get as much reading as possible in!

    1. Tien Post author

      I am this morning. It was a little bit questionable the other day he he he… I won’t say more but the review will be up for the blog tour on Wednesday 😉 Drop by then. Thanks for stopping by today, cheers!

      Reply
  3. Alison

    Yay! Glad you got some reading in even though you’re busy. Keep it up! Hope you’re liking all the books you’re reading. Destiny’s Fire looks interesting.

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

