Review: Shadow of Night

Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2) by Deborah Harkness

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

 

Wow, I really don’t know what to say about this book.  Not because I don’t have anything to say but more because I just don’t know where to start and if / when I start, I probably wouldn’t be able to stop!  And then, I would have to placed a red blinking *spoiler* signs all over the post!  In saying that, I’d have to note there are minor spoilers (for the first book) below so if you haven’t read the first book, please do read my review for A Discovery of Witches intead.

Remember the ending of the first book ended with Diana & Matthew lifting their feet to take a step?  This book started right after they put their feet down.  There is no time lapsed in between which is so good as it means we’re not missing anything.  We’re with them each step of the way.

I know I’ve said this about the first book in my review the other week but this book is also just as absorbing as the first book. It draws you completely into the story – it’s one of those books that when you are reading it, you are completely in that world and have absolutely no idea what’s going on around you.  I don’t mean just literally ‘reading’ it, I meant from the time you start and in the in betweens where you’d have to put it down just to do that necessity of life like going to the WC, you’d be haunted (ie. you’re totally out of this world type of feeling). I just couldn’t stop thinking about it.

It’s a pretty hefty book so it’s really unlikely that you’d read it in a single sitting or even in a day.  There were parts that I’d re-read just cuz I like it so much…

“Vampires reckon time differently than warmbloods do,” he said, still unwilling to release me.

“How long is a vampire minute, then?” I asked, snuggling under his chin.

“It’s hard to say,” Matthew murmured.  “Some length of time between an ordinary minute and forever.”

The funny thing is I prefer the ‘romance’ in the first book.  I just like reading that beginning bit where everybody is unsure and discovering of one’s feelings etc.  Nevertheless, the relationship between Diana & Matthew are still in its early stages and therefore, there were many things they learnt about each other in this book – a bit more steamy, of course 😉 but it’s lovely to read that Matthew being the overprotective alpha vampire and Diana, an independent intelligent modern woman are working things out to find the balance for a healthy relationship.

The pace of the book is actually quite slow.  I felt that it was even slower than the first book but maybe that’s because I wanted more action!  There were some but I wanted MORE! –I’m hoping that the third book will grant my wish 😉 Noting the time period this book is set in though, it’s really not surprising and again, due to the time period and Matthew being who he is, Harkness has this wide ranging possibilities to include in her stories and oh, did she use them!

Deborah Harkness has definitely surpassed herself in the complex weaving of this story.  The story moved in such a way that everytime I felt lulled, when I felt the story is just “settling down”, another element is being introduced.  I felt the rug under feet kept being pulled from under me all the time, I think my bottom must be a bit bruised.  Okay, so not each element was that dramatic but some of them were so subtle that a page or 2 later, you realised that she’s just added another dimension to the story!  This is a most admirable characteristic of this book.  I’m totally head over heels in love with it.

This series is definitely high on my recommended list so if you haven’t read it yet, DO!  I really can’t recommend it enough 🙂

And just for the fun of it…

“Sex and dominance.  It’s what modern humans think vampire relationships are all about,” I said.  “Their stories are full of crazed alpha-male vampires throwing women over their shoulders before dragging them off for dinner and a date.”

“Dinner and a date?” Matthew was aghast.  “Do you mean…?”

“Uh-huh.  You should see what Sarah’s friends in the Madison coven read.  Vampire meets girl, vampire bites girl, girl is shocked to find out there really are vampires.  The sex, blood, and overprotective behavior all come quickly thereafter.  Some of it is pretty explicit.” I paused.  “There’s no time for bundling, that’s for sure.  I don’t remember much poetry or dancing either.”

Matthew swore.  “No wonder your aunt wanted to know if I was hungry.”

Thank you Viking and NetGalley for the opportunity to view and review. 

2 thoughts on “Review: Shadow of Night

  1. novareylin

    YAY!!!!! Ok I don’t normally squeel but I just totally am so super excited about this! I’ve been waiting for this book since Discovery of Witches and I have yet to go GET THIS ONE! But I’m super excited that you said you loved it. This is on my to read very, very, very, very soon list!

    Great review! Thank you! ❤

    Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

