Sunday Shorts

I was really excited this week to participate in my first meme: Random Reads (June) so I read one of the books I meant to read:

The Bride Price by Tracey Jane Jackson

This was a freebie I downloaded via iTunes a few months ago.  I’ just totally nuts  about time travel so I couldn’t help myself, besides that it’s a freebie, I would read any time travelling books!  I was also pleasantly shocked when I found out that Tracey Jane is a New Zealander (with an American father).  Go, Tracey!

So, the short synopsis from Goodreads:

Sophie Ford thought she was sleeping in the arms of her beloved husband, Jamie. However, she has woken to find herself in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 1863, without explanation as to how she got there, or where her husband is.    She rejoices when a soldier, looking identical to Jamie, arrives.  Can she break through Jamie’s barriers and bring his memory back?

And my Short & Sweet Review:

I would love to have given this book a 5 stars rating I just couldn’t.  The reading was enjoyably easy but matters were resolved too easily & too conveniently.  I think there is a lot more that can be done to make the story that extra “oomph”.  There was only a hint of the intrigue so I wish there was a lot more goings on for the suspense in the story.  Also, for a romance book this book is quite clean (ie. lots of kissing but sex is behind closed doors 😉 )

Rating: 4/5 stars

I also managed to finish another book this weekend:

The Keeping Place (The Obernewtyn Chronicles #5) by Isobelle Carmody

4/5 stars

It’s really hard (or strange) to review a book I’ve read a number of times.  This is one of the series that I would re-read over and over again.  It’s a dystopian series with a lot more touch of the fantasy.  It is set after the ‘Great White’ where the world is incapacitated and so, technology is non-existent (no cars / guns / computers / electricity).  The Misfits are humans with ‘talents’ which evolves after the ‘Great White’ and is possibly due to the ‘Great White’ (a kind of mutants).  They are fighting for against oppression of their kind and acceptance in society.  On top of this, however, there is a greater mystery where the beasts are also fighting for their freedom and the acceptance of their intelligence.  We follow Elspeth, the mistress of Obernewtyn (a refuge for the Misfits) and the Innle (approximately ‘saviour’) of the beasts in this series, as she fought not only for the Misfits but also for the beasts.  She is not sure of how to do either or both but she is such a strong heroine, loyal, brave, and intelligent.  This is a world I cannot get enough of.

 

I’m currently on a mini holiday, so here’s a bit of the view (such gorgeous weather!!):

   

I hope everybody is having a fabolous weekend (and those having a long weekend, an absolutely Smashing one).

Would love to hear your thoughts...

