Sunday Shorts

I don’t always write full reviews for all the books I read.  I have to be compelled by the book – by how the book affected me emotionally and / or intellectually.  Nevertheless, there are lots of fun enjoyable books that I thought I’d share by quick reviews made up of a few (as few as I can make it) sentences.

I haven’t had much chance to read this weekend as we were away at church camp so I’ve only finished ONE Fun book:

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1) by Lemony Snicket

Short Synopsis from Goodreads:

Like a car alarm, bagpipe music, or a doorbell ringing in the middle of the night, hearing this all-new audio edition of The Bad Beginning will only upset you. This unique multi-voice recording brings the first book in Lemony Snicket’s alarming A Series of Unfortunate Events to such terrible life that no one should really have to experience it. Unless you have an ear for such ghastly details as a tragic fire, a nefarious villain, itchy clothing, and cold porridge for breakfast, all narrated in chilly detail by the distinguished, and disturbed, Tim Curry with a team of talented readers, you would be better off listening to something else.

Short & Sweet Review:

A series of Unfortunate Events, indeed!  You are pre-warned right from the start NOT to expect any other things but UN-fortunate Events.  Of course, I was still being positive thinking that can’t be right throughout the whole book but each time I think something was going well… I was proven wrong again and again.  Nonetheless, this is an entertaining and enjoyable book.  It explains some big words like ‘insipid’, ‘duration’, etc…  And though the end is UN-realistic to the Adult Me, I would recommend this book to your children who like adventure books with a ‘scary’ baddie 🙂

Here are a couple of things from the camp:

2 thoughts on “Sunday Shorts

    1. Tien Post author

      I have to admit that I’ve been sort of avoiding them just cos they look kinda strange but I’m glad I gave it a go as it really was a fun easy read. I am very interested in watching the movie now even though am not a fan of Jim Carey so that might lessened my enjoyment of the movie.

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

