Review: Everything Beautiful

Everything Beautiful
Everything Beautiful by Simmone Howell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow, really, I don’t know what I expected but this book just shows me what gems are out there when you’re not expecting it.

Let me state as a sort of disclaimer that I usually avoid contemporary fiction (YA or adult) like the plague. Uh huh, you heard me. So for me to completely be immersed in a novel like this one was a Big surprise.

Secondly, I’m also a Christian Youth Leader. Don’t worry, I can poke fun at myself too, just like am laughing at the YL in this novel. For all I know, I’m probably a ‘Roslyn’ minus the **eeek** jumpsuites!

The wittiness caught me by surprise;

“I crossed my legs and felt my head to see if little red horns had grown.”

“I opened my mouth to tell her what I thought of Craig, how fell into the HBNQR category (hot-but-not-quite-right) but the demented glint in her eye made save it. Sarita was a believer. She had the woolly balaclava of bullshit stretched over her eyes…”

but which I thoroughly enjoyed!

And how could you not like Riley Rose? An overweight teen with a brassy personality on the outside but is completely messed up inside. This is a coming-of-age story where Riley Rose learnt to deal with the pain of losing her mom and having to live again.

Warning: Lots of language and sexual references.
I would not myself recommend this book for under 15s (but then again I may be a conservative).

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Everything Beautiful

    1. Tien Post author

      The cover is gorgeous isn’t it? I’m such a sucker for beautiful covers!

      I’m glad my review makes you want to read it. It’s a good read, I hope you get to it πŸ™‚

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

