Review: Disharmony

Disharmony
Disharmony by Leah Giarratano
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Reason
I’ve read Leah Giarratano’s Jill Jackson series which is an adult crime novels and I loved Jill Jackson. I cannot stress it enough that she absolutely Kicks some serious Ass! I was hoping for some kick ass characters in Disharmony too.

I notice the first line of the book’s description was “A psychopath… an empath… a genius.” What a terrific choice to characters and seeing that Giarratano’s experience as clinical psychologist, she could not choose better characters than these!

So… I was absolutely curious on whether Giarratano would excel in this different genre aimed at a younger audience.

The Verdict
I would love to be able to rave and rant about this book but… I can’t. I still gave it 4 stars because it still held my attention and the last 50-60 pages (where the action is) were explosive and I could not put it down.

I loved Samantha White and the backdrop she’s placed in. Being a part of the gypsies in Bucharest, Romania was just such a romantic notion to me (my completely bias opinion). She is wild. She is loyal. She has no clue who she really is…

Luke Black also had no idea who he is but he certainly knew what he has done to have been placed in a Juvenile Detention Centre. Luke was a little bit hard to love but he was strong and intelligent. He also wasn’t planning to stay down for long…

And then, we have the narrator… who is the narrator? It’s not revealed here but conjectures may be made and I’m not about to share mine :p

Let’s not forget the gorgeous gypsy guy, the gun totting retiree, the star throwing ninjas, and many other interesting characters. I’d have to say the gun totting retiree is my favourite minor character to date, LOL.

The book felt like it was setting up for something, whatever that is. Something BIG. Yet… even when the action was explosive for the last part of the book, that wasn’t it. There’s something more. Something bigger. Therefore, whilst I was a little disappointed that the book just felt like a ‘background’ story, a ‘setting up’ for the next book (or even the book after!), I will definitely read the next instalment. I’ve got to know!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Disharmony

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    I was wondering how this YA would compare to the adult series – thanks for sharing your review!

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Did you like the Jill Jackson series overall? I saw you only gave 2 stars to the 4th book (I know, it sucked that ‘someon’e had to die!! What THE?!). Anyway, the first book was the absolute best for me.

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

