Review: Looking for Alibrandi

Looking for Alibrandi
Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow, I absolutely love this book! It went way over my expectations. Unlike most of my friends who had to read this for their English class, I didn’t. I arrived in Australia missing the year (grade) this book is set for and it has taken me this long (over 16 years) to get to it.

This is a coming-of-age novel. Josephine Alibrandi is 17 going on 18 but she has never been sure of who she is and where she fits in. Josie was born in Australia and is of Italian decent. Due to the circumstance of her birth, she and her mother was shunned by the Italian community. She has struggled with the absence of a father, cultural differences in a “multicultural country”, her relations with family, friends, AND boys, and looked forward for the day “the Emancipation of Alibrandi” will arrive.

I love the Italian culture this book was immersed in. I loved how Josie struggled with trying to fit in to society at large with her background (with some very funny incidents and some very hard confusing moments). I really really loved her relationship with her mother. I just loved how this book was so hilarious and yet tackled some very big issues seriously. Highly recommended for teens (of at least 15 years of age)!

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Review: Looking for Alibrandi

    1. Tien Post author

      yes, I think most people would have read it for school but… I missed out. It’s probably more enjoyable now anyway then being set for ‘homework’ :p

      Reply
  1. mercadee

    What a great book. I saw the film while on my GAP year in Australia but the book was sooooooo much better. For any female who has ever felt she is in a minority. This the book for you. Melina Marchetta deals with issues such as peer presure, relationships between friends and the opposite sex and the coming to terms with what your roots and heritage are. We all know people like the characters in this book and the dialog between the characters is so natural you can’t help but be totally absorbed and wraped up in this funny , poinient, inspirational book. I can’t recommend this book highly enough.

    Reply
  2. fantasyandscifiohmy

    I remember reading this one in high school and loving it and enjoying the film too. I keep meaning to read more Melina Marchetta books as I keep hearing so many other people rave about her other books too.

    Reply
    1. Tien Post author

      Have you seen her latest one? It’s Fantasy! Yay!!

      Finnickin on the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles 1). It sounds really good and the cover is to die for!

      Reply

Would love to hear your thoughts...

