The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

The Shadow of the Wind4.5 stars

10 year old Daniel Sempere found a treasure.  A book titled ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Julian Carax which took him to the wonderful world of words.  In seeking to know the author and other books by him, Daniel stumbled onto a sinister world where a man with no face was burning all Julian Carax’s books, a homeless man who is not who he seems to be, a beautiful but blind lady, and a policy inspector eaten by jealousy and power.

At first unknowingly and then unable to resist, Daniel was drawn into this web of deception, betrayal, and violence.  Yet through it, he became appreciative of humanity, love and loyalty.  There is no denying that Daniel came through this baptism of fire to be a better man.

I have originally picked up this book a couple of years ago, I think.  The first few pages seem so very familiar and yet, I am unable to recall why I never finished it.  I guess maybe back then, it was just not the time to read this story.  This time around though, my glass just overflows with appreciations.

It did not read like a translated book (kudos to the translators) but then again I can only comment on what I have read and since I can’t read Spanish… I can’t really tell if the original would have even more wonderful!

I would have given a 5 star rating except approximately 64% into the book, in about 8 letters, we were told what is going to happen to Daniel (being main protagonist & narrator).  I kept on reading but somehow I have lost a little bit of pleasure as I just did not like these 8 letters!  However, I persisted to read with this shadow over me all the way to the end.  BUT it is in these last 36% of the book where everything was brought together and wrapt neatly in package with very complicated twists of ribbons.

*sigh* If you have picked up the book before and put it back down after only a few pages (like me), try again, I truly hope you will not be disappointed because I was absolutely pleased to have read it to the end.

Would love to hear your thoughts...

